An Author’s Odyssey by Chris Colfer

9780316383219_p0_v2_s1200x630Title: An Author’s Odyssey
Author: Chris Colfer
Series: The Land of Stories
Previous Books in the Series:
1. The Wishing Spell
2. The Enchantress Returns
3. A Grimm Warning
4. Beyond the Kingdoms
Date Started: November 16
Date Finished: November 22
Format: ebook from the digital library

In the highly anticipated continuation of the Land of Stories series, Conner learns that the only place to fight the Masked Man’s literary army is “inside his own short stories! ” When the twins and their friends enter worlds crafted from Conner’s imagination, finding allies no one else could have ever dreamed of, the race begins to put an end to the Masked Man’s reign of terror. Can the twins finally restore peace in the fairy tale world? Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Chris Colfer, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, The Land of Stories Series, Youth Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

War of the Cards by Colleen Oakes

33913967Title: War of the Cards
Author: Colleen Oakes
Series: Queen of Hearts Saga
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Queen of Hearts
2. Blood of Wonderland
Date Started: November 18
Date Finished: November 22
Format: ebook from the digital library

Dinah has lost everyone she ever loved. Her brother was brutally murdered. The wicked man she believed was her father betrayed her. Her loyal subjects have been devastated by war. And the boy she gave her heart to broke it completely. Now a dark queen has risen out of the ashes of her former life. Fury is blooming inside Dinah, poisoning her soul and twisting her mind. All she has left is Wonderland and her crown, and her obsession to fight for both. But the war rages on, and Dinah could inherit a bloodstained throne. Can a leader filled with love and rage ever be the ruler her kingdom needs? Or will her all-consuming wrath bring Wonderland to its knees? This is not a story of happily ever after. This is the story of the Queen of Hearts. Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, Young Adult Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Wicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popovic

33858398Title: Wicked Like a Wildfire
Author: Lana Popovic
Date Started: November 13
Date Finished: November 18
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever? Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Dirty Rowdy Thing by Christina Lauren

21411902Title: Dirty Rowdy Thing
Author: Christina Lauren
Series: Wild Seasons
Previous Book in the Series:
1. Sweet Filthy Boy
Date Started: November 14
Date Finished: November 16
Format: ebook from the digital library

Despite their rowdy hookups, Harlow and Finn don’t even like each other…which would explain why their marriage lasted only twelve hours. He needs to be in charge and takes whatever he wants. She lives by the Want-something-done? Do-it-yourselfmantra. Maybe she’s too similar to the rugged fisherman—or just what he needs. Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Christina Lauren, Erotica, Romance, Wild Seasons Series | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Lady Knight by Tamora Pierce

41imxjvsm9l-_sx330_bo1204203200_Title: Lady Knight
Author: Tamora Pierce
Series: Protector of the Small Quartet
Previous Books in the Series:
1. First Test
2. Page
3. Squire
Date Started: November 8
Date Finished: November 14
Format: ebook from the digital library

In the final thrilling installment of Tamora Pierce’s Protector of the Small series, our sturdy young heroine, Keladry of Mindelan (a.k.a. Kel), has finally been knighted. Never one to rest on her laurels, Kel champs at the bit, ready to tackle the horrific magic killing devices she was shown in the Chamber of the Ordeal during her knighthood initiation. The huge, insectlike machines, “made of iron-coated giants’ bones, chains, pulleys, dagger-fingers and -toes, and a long whiplike tail,” feed on the souls of dead children and are systematically killing off the citizens and warriors of Tortall. Thoroughly disgusted to discover that not only is she not going to be assigned a combat post, but she has been placed in charge of a refugee camp instead, Kel, in her usual noble, stoic way, swallows her disappointment and sets out being the best refugee camp commander possible. Of course, destiny has a way of sneaking up on a young woman like Kel, and soon she is fulfilling the ordeal the Chamber set out for her… and then some. Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Favorite Authors, Protector of the Small Quartet, Tamora Pierce, Young Adult Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Disappearances by Emily Bain Murphy

51xqzwhkg8l-_sx329_bo1204203200_Title: The Disappearances
Author: Emily Bain Murphy
Date Started: November 4
Date Finished: November 11
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

What if the ordinary things in life suddenly…disappeared? Aila Quinn’s mother, Juliet, has always been a mystery: vibrant yet guarded, she keeps her secrets beyond Aila’s reach. When Juliet dies, Aila and her younger brother Miles are sent to live in Sterling, a rural town far from home–and the place where Juliet grew up. Sterling is a place with mysteries of its own. A place where the experiences that weave life together–scents of flowers and food, reflections from mirrors and lakes, even the ability to dream–vanish every seven years. Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

51vckyalgxl-_sx332_bo1204203200_Title: Falling Kingdoms
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Series: Falling Kingdoms
Date Started: November 6
Date Finished: November 8
Format: ebook from the digital library

In a land where magic has been forgotten but peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest is simmering. Three kingdoms grapple for power–brutally transforming their subjects’ lives in the process. Amidst betrayals, bargains, and battles, four young people find their fates forever intertwined; Cleo: A princess raised in luxury must embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long thought extinct. Jonas: Enraged at injustice, a rebel lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country impoverished–and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making. Lucia: A girl adopted at birth into a royal family discovers the truth about her past–and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield. Magnus: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, a firstborn son begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword… The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed? Continue reading

Posted in Book Reviews, Falling Kingdoms series, Fantasy, Morgan Rhodes, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult Fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment