Now I Rise by Kiersten White

22817331Title: Now I Rise
Author: Kiersten White
Series: Conqueror’s Saga
Previous Book in the Series:
1. And I Darken
Date Started: July 24
Date Finished: July 26
Format: Hardcover from local library

She has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she’s always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada Dracul is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn’t getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.

What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu’s subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it’s no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. Radu longs for his sister’s fierce confidence—but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him? As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won…and souls will be lost.

This book should not have been called Now I Rise. It should have been called Now I Bleed because there was a lot of blood in this novel, so much that it almost rivaled a Game of Thrones book. I am not joking. Bodies were falling so frequently within these 460 pages that I was starting to get a little queasy as the death toll mounted. However, that being said, this book was really, really good.

I’m not sure if it was because I was reading just this book and not another one, but Now I Rise went by faster than its predecessor did. Before I knew it on Tuesday I was more than halfway through the book and before I left, was almost done. There was no second during this book that I felt myself dragging because of a boring story line. Even Radu who annoyed me to no end before, was very interesting. I liked watching him trying to discover who he was outside of his sister and his love for Mehmed. Just like I loved watching Lada discover just how deep the ‘men only’ club went. However, that one scene between Lada and Mehmed was really just…WOW. And of course, he just had to go and screw it up.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Although I did enjoy myself more than I did with And I Darken, this book’s body count was a little bit much for a YA novel. I’m curious to see what the final book has in store, because from where I’m standing, both Lada and Mehmed have conquered what they wanted to. The only thing left is putting everything back to the way it was…

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite Authors, Historical Fiction, Kiersten White, Regency, The Conqueror's Saga, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

