Blood of Wonderland by Colleen Oakes

30166599._UY2417_SS2417_Title: Blood of Wonderland
Author: Colleen Oakes
Series: Queen of Hearts Saga
Previous Book in the Series:
1. Queen of Hearts
Date Started: July 9
Date Finished: July 11
Format: Hardcover from local library

Dinah has been exiled from Wonderland. The vicious father she always feared has framed her for the brutal murder of her brother and turned the kingdom against her.  Now hiding in the lush and mysterious Twisted Wood with only her war steed at her side, Dinah is faced with a choice. She could leave Wonderland forever or return and fight her father for her throne—a fight she knows would only result in bloodshed.

When a chance encounter with one of her father’s long-lost enemies brings Dinah more allies than she ever could have imagined, war starts to feel inevitable. But before Dinah can lead her people into combat, she must confront certain truths about her heart and her destiny—no matter how dark those truths may be. Revolution is rising in Wonderland. Dinah’s battle has begun.

Considering how much I ‘loved’ the first book of this series I was a little surprised that I even decided to pick up book 2. The world of Wonderland had fallen flat in the first book and the character of Dinah had driven me mad with her constant whining and weakness. The same looked to be true for Blood of Wonderland, until Dinah runs into the Spade card and he takes her to the Yukerei where her true origins are revealed. Of course I didn’t like her true origins. I think that part of the plot was ridiculous – but you can really just add it to the list – and I have a strange feeling that this character is seriously going to betray Dinah in the next book, but jeez. As my status update for this book went on Goodreads, I want to run this book over with a zamboni.

Other than that plot point though, I have to admit that Dinah did become a lot stronger than she was in the last book. Less whiny and more queen like. And once I remembered that she was supposed to become the Queen of Hearts – a villain – her story makes me smile actually. Especially the end. Although I have to say that I’m not the biggest fan of the fact that each Wonderland/Queen of Hearts retelling that I’ve been reading lately has the Queen becoming the Red Queen because she’s been jilted/lost her true love. Personally, I liked that Dinah’s story was because she wanted revenge on the King for killing her brother.

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. So I didn’t absolutely hate it, even though it did have it’s moments. And the story did progress nicely. I just wish that plot points were different.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

