A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

51im2bhf5szlTitle: A Study in Charlotte
Author: Brittany Cavallaro
Series: Charlotte Holmes
Date Started: July 3
Date Finished: July 4
Format: ebook from the digital library

The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar.

From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

I guess I should preface this review by saying that I’m not really a big fan of Sherlock Holmes. I don’t know why considering I’m into mysteries and things from the UK, but I just could never get into that stuff. That being said, I went into reading A Study in Charlotte very timidly. And I guess I had a reason to. For such a short book the chapters were very long. Charlotte herself was quite…annoying at times. And there were some times where I would get so ‘windswept’ by reading that I would forget that these characters had barely known each other. The character development between Charlotte and James is actually quite fantastic for such a short novel.

However, there were a few times that I found myself dreading the start of the next chapter especially because they were so lengthy and at times really boring. Did I really need to see certain characters interact with each other? Did I really need James monologue about Charlotte’s *insert some sort of habit here*? I will say this about A Study in Charlotte though, it really had me guessing about who the framer/murder was. I didn’t really figure it out until Charlotte and James were one hundred percent sure.

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. If some places hadn’t dragged on a bit this actually would have been really, really good. Charlotte is flawed – and not the narrator – and I loved watching her work through her flaws (although not successfully). James was an interesting narrator and other than the ‘love at first sight’ vibe I was feeling between Charlotte and James, I really do like their relationship (whatever that might be). I’m not sure if I’ll read the sequel right away, but I will make it to book 2 at some point.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Mystery, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

  1. Pingback: The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

