It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

27362503Title: It Ends with Us
Author: Colleen Hoover
Date Read: June 23
Format: ebook from the digital library

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

So I’m three for three when it comes to Colleen Hoover and her novels. I have loved every single one of them, and with every single one of them I really can’t put them down (much to my eyes regret). When I left work on Friday, this book and it’s characters were stuck in my head. I was at the early point of Lily and Ryle’s relationship where they kept running into each other, but Lily kept telling him no to the one-night stands. It was addictive and made me want to keep reading like books haven’t in a while. But then my heart started to break.

Because when I picked it up at home and made it through Lily and Ryle agreeing to try a relationship, the nightmare truly began. The first time it happened, I was with Lily and Ryle and thought that maybe they had just had too much to drink and things got out of hand. But when he pushed her down the stairs, I instantly became really concerned and was a little bit annoyed with Lily that she agreed to stay with him. That she bought the excuse about what happened to him as child. When they rushed off to get married in Vegas I was on alert. For a guy who didn’t do relationships, he sure was committing to Lily one hundred percent quickly. And the fact that they hadn’t really talked about her past with Atlas made me really nervous.

The penultimate scene that lead to the end of Lily and Ryle’s relationship was just so… *sigh* On one hand it was heartbreaking, because here was a guy that I had been rooting from for the start. But on the other, it just…it really ticked me off because she could have avoided the whole situation by leaving him when he pushed her down the stairs. This part of the novel really irked me. And believe it or not the whole Atlas storyline did too. I mean, I get that he was thrown in to give the relationship some conflict, but after helping out Lily he just became a shadow. I didn’t even like that they kind of ended up together at the end of the book.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Considering I had so many problems with this book, I did still really enjoyed myself. I could not for the life of me put this down on Friday, and whether there were a few plot lines I could have done without, it was still a really good read.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Erotica, Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

