Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

51-harkntql-_sx327_bo1204203200_Title: Always and Forever, Lara Jean
Author: Jenny Han
Sequel to:
1. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
2. P.S. I Still Love You
Date Started: June 20
Date Finished: June 23
Format: ebook from the digital library

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind. When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?

So along with the rest of the YA book community who read the previous two novels in this series, I have to admit that I was really surprised when I found out that there was going to be a third book. I don’t really remember how book 2 ended, but I thought it ended happily; Peter and Lara Jean were back together, her dad was in a relationship with the neighbor and Margot and Lara had gotten over what happened with Josh (something did happen with Josh, right?). But yet, here was the ‘conclusion’ novel.

And believe it or not I actually kind of liked it. I know in past reviews I said that Lara Jean kind of annoyed me sometimes because she was too goody, goody for her own good. But in this novel, I could tell how much she had grown up – and really she does, I completely forgot that she was in high school in the last books. For some reason I thought she was in junior high. Her relationship with Peter is adorable and I loved how she really fought to stay with him and go against her mother’s advice about not going to college with a boyfriend. Speaking of, Peter’s mom? As Trina said, total bitch! Anyway, I still love Peter’s relationship with Lara Jean’s sister Kitty. It’s cute how hard he tries to stay on both sister’s good sides.

I also liked that Lara Jean didn’t get into her dream school either. I know that’s probably mean of me to say – especially because I got into both schools I applied to in my senior year of high school – but it was a really good plot twist that caused the perfect amount of drama for a contemporary novel. It was fun to see Lara Jean and Peter come up with a new plan, one that got complicated even more with the UNC acceptance. But in the end I am glad she chose that school and I know Han said that this was the definite end for the series, but I think it would be kind of cool in a few years if she wrote another novel so we get to see where Lara Jean is.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. I could have done without the whole drunk break-up arc, but otherwise I really loved this novel. It made me feel a little bit too nostalgic for high school, but otherwise, beautifully written.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

