Legion by Julie Kagawa

28821387Title: Legion
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: Talon Saga
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Talon
2. Rogue
3. Soldier
Date Started: June 6
Date Finished: June 20
Format: ebook from the digital library

Dragon hatchling Ember Hill was never prepared to find love at all—dragons do not suffer human emotions—let alone with a human, and a former dragonslayer at that. With ex-soldier of St. George Garret dying at her feet after sacrificing his freedom and his life to expose the deepest of betrayals, Ember knows only that nothing she was taught by dragon organization Talon is true. About humans, about rogue dragons, about herself and what she’s capable of doing and feeling.

In the face of great loss, Ember vows to stand with rogue dragon Riley against St. George and her own twin brother, Dante—the heir apparent to all of Talon, and the boy who will soon unleash the greatest threat and terror dragonkind has ever known. Talon is poised to take over the world, and the abominations they have created will soon take to the skies, darkening the world with the promise of blood and death to those who will not yield.

Now I kind of remember why I don’t like reading books in a series until the whole series is out. I completely forgot what happened in Soldier, and believe it or not my review was of no help which kind of sucks. Thankfully, though, Kagawa does spend a few seconds rehashing what happened in the last book, so I wasn’t completely lost. It also didn’t help that this was another novel that I was reading during the busiest time of year at work and then right before I went on vacation. Whoops.

Anyway, I keep forgetting how masterful of a storyteller Kagawa is. She takes something mythical and turns into, well, actually believable. There were a few times while reading Legion that I had to remind myself that, oh, yeah, this is a book about dragons and not human beings on the run from the CIA or something. And I guess in a way that should be a bad thing, but for these characters I don’t think so. It works for them, especially as Ember keeps realizing that everything that Talon ever told her wasn’t exactly the truth. Dragons can love. Dragons can feel human emotions. In fact, there is a scene in this novel where Ember and her dragon self have a conversation about her feelings towards Riley and Garrett and I have to admit that most of the time something like that I would find really trippy, but for this story it completely worked.

I also liked how Kagawa paced everything. She didn’t just drudge along and then wam, bam huge action sequence, to be continued. It was nicely timed out. I especially loved all the normal drama between the love triangle of Riley/Ember/Garrett that she threw in too. I have to admit that the fact that the love triangle is (kinda) resolved before the final book of the series shocks me. But at the same time I’m glad, because while it wasn’t a big part of the overall plot, I still felt it’s ramifications throughout each book.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. The characters are developing quite nicely. Everything was nicely paced. I have a lot of questions still about Talon and what their ‘ultimate goal’ is, but I’m hoping that they will be answered in the final book.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Julie Kagawa, Mystery, Romance, Talon Saga, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

