A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

acowar_usTitle: A Court of Wings and Ruin
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Previous Books in the Series:
1. A Court of Thorns and Roses
2. A Court of Mist and Fury
Date Started: May 18
Date Finished: May 25
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

I wish there were enough words for me to describe how much I loved and adored this book, but at the moment words are failing me so forgive me if this review isn’t up to my usual standards. A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOWAR) was probably my number one anticipated book of 2017 and after the way ACOMAF ended I wasn’t sure how I was going to be able to get through the months of wait. I somehow managed and ridiculously cursed myself when I got a stack of library books to read the week before ACOWAR’s release. But when I did finally get through that stack of books and started this, I was a little hesitant at first. What if ACOWAR didn’t live up to my high expectations and fell into that ‘final books of series doldrums?’

But I should have know that Maas wouldn’t let it. She created a wonderful roller coaster of a novel. *please do not read further if you have not read the book, spoilers abound ahead!* ACOWAR still had its problems, which I’m going to list right this second. I didn’t really like Feyre’s time at the Spring court, while on one hand she did get some sort of vengeance on Tamlin, she also destroyed an innocent court in the process and almost hurt Lucien unforgivably. Seriously, it was cool to see Feyre plot so intricately and finally go up against Ianthe, but at the same time she should have guessed what the consequences of her plotting would be. I also didn’t like how secretive she was with her plans even from Rhysand! You would think after her time at the Court of Dreams she would have learned that they love her and will support her no matter what – ‘actions and decisions are your own’! And then the final thing I didn’t like was the fact that after all the shit that Tamlin put her through, the emotional abuse and the things he said at the High Lords meeting, he still gets fucking redeemed. Are you serious?! That guy deserved to die in battle damn it.

With that being said, there were a lot of things in this novel that I loved – more than just Rhys/Feyre’s relationship – which includes, but isn’t limited to the relationship that Feyre has with the other members of the Court of Dreams (Mor and Azriel in particular). The way Feyre’s relationship with her sisters has evolved since book 1. And believe it or not how completely evil Maas was with some of her plot twists. Yes, my emotions were pouring out of me (especially that ONE scene near the end), but to me it’s not a good novel if that doesn’t happen to you at least once while reading it.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I know there were a few things I didn’t like, but overall this novel was really wonderful. It tied up some loose ends – while leaving others open for the series to continue – and was action packed. I cannot wait to see where Maas decides to take the stories of these characters next.

Bookshelf worthy? Wouldn’t that be cool to actually be able to winnow? I could then have multiple libraries all over the world.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Romance, Sarah J Maas, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Caroline says:

    Great review! This was also probably my most anticipated read of 2017 – although there are a LOT of good ones coming out! I wasn’t a huge fan of Feyre’s time in the Spring Court. I grew to enjoy the dynamic of the Night Court’s inner circle so much in ACOMAF that I was impatient to see them all reunited in ACOWAR. Maas certainly created a roller coaster – especially right there at the end! I liked seeing Feyre, Nesta, and Elaine’s dad redeemed, but I was honestly a little disappointed that none of the main characters died. I don’t know that my heart could have handled Rhys or Feyre dying, but I also felt like it was a little bit of a disservice to a series that was otherwise so real to have all of them survive against all odds. It felt a bit like a copout.

    Like

  2. Nice Review!
    About Tamlin I feel like he didn’t get redeemed tho.. Just because he did those two things at the end to help Feyre doesn’t make him fully redeemed. He can easily throw those two things back at Feyre when he want to act salty. He Just like he threw the fact that he help her father and sister out in ACOTAR. He can also throw back at her face that he told her “Be Happy” as well. If he truly got redeemed then he would have apologized for Feyre for his actions and they would have made amends. Since that didn’t happen,he didn’t get redeemed because he didn’t learn to take responsibly for his actions .That would have been the first step to me cause he would have realized that what he was did to Feyre was killing her and would try to correct his behavior before he does it to someone else. Feyre wishing him happiness is her saying that she’s done with him and it’s no point for her to hold bitterness in her heart for him. She move on and she’s going to have a happy life. He’s the one that got to get his shit together if he really wants too. So in all honestly he didn’t get away with everything for the following reasons:

    He’s court or soldiers don’t trust him anymore.
    He doesn’t have Feyre anymore.
    He doesn’t have his friend who he treated like shit anymore.
    The other high lords probably can’t trust anymore since he was siding with Hybern most the time.

    He lost everything and he only got himself to blame for it. Either he continues to blame others for it or take full responsibility for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

