Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

32048554Title: Windfall
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Date Started: May 2
Date Finished: May 9
Format: ebook from the digital library

Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall. As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined . . . and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.

So Windfall has been on and off my radar now for the last few months. When I first heard about it, I didn’t think I was going to like it. Girl who’s in love with her male best friend? Where have I heard that story before? But when I found out that it was a novel by Jennifer E. Smith (it’s the cover art that threw me, not the normal design for her books) I changed my mind a few more times. It wasn’t until I saw it pop up under the new releases tab on the digital library that I finally caved and put a hold on it.

And to tell you the truth I’m not really sure how I feel about it. I really liked Alice and Teddy and Leo as a friend unit. They’re friendship was adorable. That being said I’m still on the fence about Teddy and Alice’s relationship. I’m always wary of friends turned lovers. What will happen to the friendship if things go south? And in some ways that was kind of explored. The morning that Alice and Teddy find out that they won the lottery, there is this moment between them where he kisses her. They don’t talk about it again for months and even then Teddy just waves it off as a ‘heat of the moment’ thing. But that really isn’t the case.

Add that onto the drama that comes with winning the lottery and watching your best friend adjust to this new financial thing, it can be a little stressful. There were a few times in this book where I wanted to reach through my computer screen and give Teddy a few shakes. For someone who hasn’t had money for the last few years, he sure is spending it recklessly. And Alice…I won’t fault her for not knowing who she is. She’s eighteen and about to graduate from high school, I’ve been there I get it. But I will give her crap for thinking that she was nothing more than a stray puppy that her aunt and uncle took in when her parents died. After nine years, you’d think she’d know better.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Even though there were a few times that I didn’t like Teddy and Alice, I was still thoroughly entertained, especially with the Leo/Teddy/Alice friendship dynamic. I actually would be interested in a spinoff novel that focuses on Leo and Max.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

