The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

5139zwihtyl-_sx329_bo1204203200_Title: The Upside of Unrequited
Author: Becky Albertalli
Date Started: April 21
Date Finished: April 22
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful. Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back. There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

Another book where I am absolutely in love. I was so excited when my monthly subscription box came and this wonderfully blue book was inside. I’ve been wanting to read this book for the last couple of weeks and after I finished Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, I was even more eager. And let me tell you, it was well worth the wait. I already knew The Upside of Unrequited was special when I started it on Friday and I already could relate to the main character. Molly is wonderful She’s a perfect MC who has many and familiar imperfections. She’s fat, but she doesn’t like to talk about it. She has a long list of crushes, not boyfriends. She’s introverted and likes to do crafts. I can seriously relate to that. Then I also liked how she noticed that a woman had her hair styled in ‘Sailor Moon buns’ and I was completely sold.

Her interactions with her family are amazing. Her small jealousy over her sister Cassie getting a girlfriend was adorable. Her conversations with Will were actually quite entertaining. I especially liked when they were all at a party together and some random guy starts hitting on Molly and comments how she’s ‘really cute for a big girl’ and Molly tells him to fuck off and Will is impressed. That was really cool. And then there is the character of Reid who I already knew was going to be important to Molly just because of how she interacted with him and how she wasn’t completely nervous – there were still some moments where she got embarrassed – around him. I especially loved their texting back and forth. I’m a sucker for those kind of things.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. This will definitely be one of those books where I will always go back to it if ever I’m in a reading slump and I need something to drag me out of it. Loved it!

Bookshelf worthy? Get it. You won’t regret it I promise. 🙂

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

