Cress by Marissa Meyer

71tet4zx73lTitle: Cress
Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: Lunar Chronicles
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Cinder
2. Scarlet
Date Read: April 18
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Let me tell you that I am grateful that work was slow on Tuesday, because once I picked up Cress I could not put it down. I know I’ve said this before but I like how Meyer weaves the separate storylines together so that they all flow together. This time around we’re dealing with Cress, Kai and Cinder and her fellow fugitives as they try to stop the wedding from hell. The action is supreme, the way that characters slowly start to form bonds is magnificent, and I love the way that Cinder’s character is developing. She is adjusting to her new role as ‘princess’ quite well. I really loved that scene where after using her Lunar abilities on Sybil she feels horrible and is afraid that she is turning into her aunt.

The one thing I didn’t really like in this book was the character of Cress. Don’t get me wrong I loved her hacking abilities and I loved how dedicated she was to finishing a job and her slowly growing bond with Thorne. But. There were a few times – like when she was captured to be sold to the doctor – that she was very weak and it got on my nerves. Now it could just be because I’m used to strong female characters in this story that I’m a little thrown off by her, but the girl really needs to toughen up. I’m hoping that now that she’s with Cinder and the rest of them and they’re about to start a revolution, she’ll become a little stronger.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I devoured this book in one sitting and it was the best seven and a half hours of my week.

Bookshelf worthy? After three years of being on my shelf, I finally read it! Yay!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, Favorite Authors, Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

