Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

51vf3a1rfzl-_sx330_bo1204203200_Title: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda
Author: Becky Albertalli
Date Started: April 15
Date Finished: April 17
Format: Hardcover from local library

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Apparently, 2017 is going to be the year where these 280-300 paged ‘chick lit’ books are going to be the books that I desperately need right now. When I started Simon I didn’t think it was going to be my kind of book. Lately books that are ‘hyped’ in the YA world have been letting me down, and I was holding my breath with this one. But as I started to devour it on Saturday at work I was completely happy that this book wasn’t going to be that way.

Simon is adorable. The e-mail exchanges with Blue are adorable. I really lived for those chapters that just consist of e-mails between the two and their really hardcore flirting. And Simon’s interactions with high school are really real. I was a little nervous when no one seemed to bat an eye after Christmas break and the whole tumblr fiasco, but when Simone did eventually get teased I breathed a little easier. I kind of wished that something more had happened between Martin and Simon concerning their friendship, but I get that this book had to have some sort of unhappy plot ending. I do have to give it to Martin though. He did realize what he had done was horrible and stupid and he apologized. That’s more than some people like him do in real life.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I’m not shocked that I liked Simon, but I am shocked that it stuck with me all weekend. This was definitely one of those books that I probably should have taken home with me instead of leaving it at work to finish on Monday. The characters were well written, the plot was well constructed. There were a few moments where things started to get a little bit ‘too perfect’ when it came to Simon being outted to the school, but a few football team teases and the stunt at rehearsal changed all of that.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. Pingback: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

