Charmed Thirds by Megan McCafferty

51zmh1gis2l-_sx329_bo1204203200_Title: Charmed Thirds
Author: Megan McCafferty
Series: Jessica Darling
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Sloppy Firsts
2. Second Helpings
Date Started: April 1
Date Finished: April 4
Format: Paperback from my shelf

Jessica Darling is in college! Things are looking up for Jessica Darling. She has finally left her New Jersey hometown/hellhole for Columbia University in New York City; she s more into her boyfriend, Marcus Flutie, than ever (so what if he s at a Buddhist college in California?); and she s making new friends who just might qualify as stand-ins for her beloved best friend, Hope.  But Jessica soon realizes that her bliss might not last. She lands an internship at a snarky Brooklyn-based magazine, but will she fit in with the uberhip staff (and will she even want to)? As she and Marcus hit the rocks, will she end up falling for her GOPunk, neoconservative RA . . . or the hot (and married!) Spanish grad student she s assisting on a summer project . . . or the oh-so-sensitive emo boy down the hall? Will she even make it through college now that her parents have cut her off financially? And what do the cryptic one-word postcards from Marcus really mean?

In previous read throughs of this series, Charmed Thirds was as far as I got. And I remember that after the awesomeness of books 1 and 2, 3 just didn’t do anything for me. I found Jessica very whiny. I was annoyed that after five hundred pages of ‘will they/won’t they?’ Marcus and Jessica don’t last and it’s because of her stupidness and her insecurities. The latter, now that I’m older, still pisses me off. I mean granted, I see that it wasn’t just Jessica’s fault that the relationship had problems, but still… How is it possible that after everything that Marcus and Jessica had been through, she didn’t know better than to talk to him about her insecurities? About her panic attack when she thought that she might be pregnant? So, I still have issues with Jessica getting all mad at Marcus two years later when they see each other again.

However, Jessica’s whining about college life? I completely get that. Only instead of having my breakdown/questioning of major right before graduation, I had mine fall semester of my sophomore year. But you know what? It’s completely normal. And I completely related to Jessica as she was going through hers. Lucky for her she vented with her friends and family. Although I was a little intrigued that she didn’t write to Hope all that much during her college years. You would think after her pregnancy scare, her break up with Marcus, and other various things she went through in those four years, she would have had a lot to confide to her best friend.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Surprise, surprise. Jessica isn’t perfect, and while I do relate to her college woes more now, I’m still annoyed that Marcus/Jessica barely lasted all that long before they headed to drama city. Yikes. I’m curious to see how long they last now.

Bookshelf worthy? I’m finally getting through the copies I bought three years ago. Huzzah!

 

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Jessica Darling series, Megan McCafferty, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Charmed Thirds by Megan McCafferty

  1. Pingback: Fourth Comings by Megan McCafferty | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Perfect Fifths by Megan McCafferty | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

