P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

25486998Title: P.S. I Like You
Author: Kasie West
Date Read: March 27
Format: Hardcover from local library

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue! Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

So, like Shuffle, Repeat this was another one of those books that I didn’t know I needed until I read it. P.S. I Like You pretty much had everything that I love about contemporary YA novels. Girl and guy originally don’t like each other. Girl and guy start bonding – in this case unknowingly – and get closer. Guy realizes he likes girl. Girl realizes she likes guy. There’s some drama that keeps them apart for a while but eventually they do get together. What I really liked about this book too is that after this huge buildup of will they won’t they, you actually see more than the big yes they will moment. You actually get to see Lily and her mysterious pen pal – I am so not spoiling this – date for twenty pages and let me tell you it is glorious.

I also liked that their whole ‘relationship’ started as secret notes passed between them in Chemistry class. When Lily’s mysterious pen pal started hinting that maybe they should transfer this over to text messaging I was really glad that she didn’t rise up to the bait. The note exchange was ridiculously cute. Even more so when Lily realizes who it is and keeps writing to him anyway. Their fall for each other was amazing and I could not put this book down even though life demanded me to.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. This is my first Kasie West novel and if her other novels are anything like this one I don’t think it will be my last. Characters were well developed and everything really flowed together quite nicely. It’s been a while since I read a book that I did not want to put down because I wanted to find out what happened next.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Kasie West, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

  1. Pingback: By Your Side by Kasie West | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

