The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

51k8s2s6-ul-_sx325_bo1204203200_Title: The Heart of Betrayal
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Series: The Remnant Chronicles
Previous Book in the Series: 
1. The Kiss of Deception
Date Started: March 23
Date Finished: March 25
Format: Hardcover from local library

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen. Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

I’m really undecided about this book. On one hand I really liked it because the plot was nicely paced and everything flowed together quite nicely. I also liked how Pearson fleshed out her characters more while also introducing new characters. On the other hand, I didn’t like this book because there were a few things that were driving me absolutely crazy. For one, the pesky love triangle that was paramount in book 1, was still present here in book 2, and was even more of a plot point than I would have liked. Granted I had a feeling that it would be considering Rafe and Kaden were both really heavily in this novel, but still at least at some point in book 2 I should have had a sense of which way Lia was leaning. But I didn’t, at all. The second thing that I really didn’t care for was the character of the Komizar. Since he is the ‘villain’ this shouldn’t come as much surprise, but it was the way that he was written that really bugged me. He didn’t really do anything unexpected. The fact that he paraded Lia around to his people to give them hope was completely expected. When the people started to really care for her, him proposing marriage was also completely expected. When it looked like she was going to disagree, he threatened not only Kaden but Rafe as well – totally predictable.

The final thing that I didn’t care for was how little we saw of the kingdom of Morrighan, especially after the huge bombs were dropped that Lia was marrying the Komizar and became a traitor to her country and that the Chancellor seems to be involved in some kind of plot that aligned him with Venden. Hopefully that will be explored more in the final book of the series?

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Yes, I know, I didn’t like a good chunk of this book why am I giving it four stars? Because even though I didn’t like it, I was still entertained and kept on the edge of my seat. Besides despite my best intentions I’m still curious to see how this love triangle plays out.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Regency, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

  1. Pingback: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

