Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

5996153Title: Blood Promise
Author: Richelle Mead
Series: Vampire Academy
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Vampire Academy
2. Frostbite
3. Shadow Kiss
Date Started: February 24
Date Finished: February 25
Format: Paperback from my shelf

The recent attack on St. Vladimir’s Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Rose’s neck, a mark that says she’s killed far too many Strigoi to count. But only one victim matters … Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life’s vow to protect Lissa—her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess—or, dropping out of the Academy to strike out on her own and hunt down the man she loves. She’ll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved?  Now, with everything at stake—and worlds away from St. Vladimir’s and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend—can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?

I always forget that after Shadow Kiss, Blood Promise and Spirit Bound break me. Gone is the carefree Rose. Now, here’s a girl who has to go after the love of her life and save him from his eternal damnation. Her training has covered almost everything, except for this. I have to admit that I always get a little teary eyed when Rose makes it to Dimitri’s hometown and meets his family. Because she’s finally meeting the family and they adore her, but she’s there to tell them that he’s turned Strigoi. And as much as I loved the family interlude I was anxious for her to get back to the real reason that she was in Russia in the first place. And let me tell you that that confrontation always makes me freak out because it’s almost reminiscent of the whole Tuxedo Mask is evil entrance from Sailor Moon (not to mention a dozen or so evil Endymion fanfics I’ve read over the years).

I was a little disappointed with the way that Rose reacted to him when she saw him for the first time and after he bites her. I mean, I get that a Strigoi bite is powerful and almost drug like, but I would have hoped that Rose was stronger than that. I guess her only saving grace was the bond between her and Lissa. It got her out of her drug haze and helped her deal with the effects of withdrawal. As for that ending, it still takes me by surprise, because even though I’ve read this book multiple times and have analyzed that scene with Rose and Dimitri on the bridge, I still don’t see how she didn’t get that stake in deep enough. I guess it’s possible because everything was such a blur, but…I don’t know something is off there.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. As much as I disliked the Dimitri as Strigoi plot, I do have to admit that it adds something to the story. You get to see Rose on her own without Lissa and yo u get to see how they cope without each other. You’re also introduced to the interesting character Sydney who’s an Alchemist – finally answering that eternal question: who cleans up after a Strigoi attack in the human world?

Bookshelf worthy? I’m surprised this one hasn’t fallen apart because of how many times I’ve read it and because it’s a paperback.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite Authors, Paranormal, Richelle Mead, Romance, Vampire Academy Series, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

  1. Pingback: Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

