Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

5135bye3vtl-_sx329_bo1204203200_Title: Sloppy Firsts
Author: Megan McCafferty
Series: Jessica Darling
Date Started: February 23
Date Finished: February 24
Format: Paperback from my shelf

“My parents suck ass. Banning me from the phone and restricting my computer privileges are the most tyrannical parental gestures I can think of. Don’t they realize that Hope’s the only one who keeps me sane? . . . I don’t see how things could get any worse.”

When her best friend, Hope Weaver, moves away from Pineville, New Jersey, hyperobservant sixteen-year-old Jessica Darling is devastated. A fish out of water at school and a stranger at home, Jessica feels more lost than ever now that the only person with whom she could really communicate has gone. How is she supposed to deal with the boy- and shopping-crazy girls at school, her dad’s obsession with her track meets, her mother salivating over big sister Bethany’s lavish wedding, and her nonexistent love life?

Like I said in my first review of the Jessica Darling prequels, the Jessica Darling books – at least Sloppy Firsts and Second Helpings – pretty much got me through my junior high experience. In fact, every time I would heck out the titles from the library – whether it would be school or the public – the librarian would look at me with a ‘Really? Again?‘ look on their face. I haven’t read these books in over a decade, and was kind of shocked when I started reading this one. I remember the swearing – my guilty pleasure – and I remember the talk of sex, but I didn’t remember the sexual innuendo, especially about oral sex and it could have been because I was too young to grasp that when I originally read Sloppy Firsts.

Anyway, it may be over a decade since I read these books, but Jessica Darling is still my favorite. She’s book smart, but not so much people smart. She overreacts about everything. Her blowups are comical while slightly full of teenage angst. And her relationship with Marcus Flutie is just…interesting. On one hand, he really was a jerk at the beginning, but in their junior year he really changed and I thought he had changed for the better. But when he confesses that his new year resolution is to stop jerking her around, I’m a little flabbergasted, still. How is it possible that he was playing her the whole time? I don’t get it, I really don’t. In fact, the final seven pages of this book still drive me bonkers to this day. Even more so when I realize that I had a Marcus Flutie like character in my life in junior high. Only we didn’t connect because of a drug test, but because I e-mailed him to stop jerking my best friend around. Ah. Memories.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Over sixteen years since this book was first published, ten since I’ve read it last and this book still is as good as I remember it. Jessica is a witty, comical narrator who I really related to in my junior high days and in some respects now.

Bookshelf worthy? I checked these out so many time I just bought my own copies.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Jessica Darling series, Megan McCafferty, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty

  1. Pingback: Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Charmed Thirds by Megan McCafferty | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  3. Pingback: Fourth Comings by Megan McCafferty | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

