The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman

26061581Title: The Dark Days Pact
Author: Alison Goodman
Series: Lady Helen
Previous Book in the Series:
1. The Dark Days Club
Date Started: February 16
Date Finished: February 20
Format: ebook from the digital library

June 1812. Just weeks after her catastrophic coming-out ball, Lady Helen Wrexhall—now disowned by her uncle—is a full member of the demon-hunting Dark Days Club. Her mentor, Lord Carlston, has arranged for Helen to spend the summer season in Brighton so that he can train her new Reclaimer powers. However, the long-term effects of Carlston’s Reclaimer work have taken hold, and his sanity is beginning to slip. At the same time, Carlston’s Dark Days Club colleague and nemesis will stop at nothing to bring Helen over to his side—and the Duke of Selburn is determined to marry her. The stakes are even higher for Helen as she struggles to become the warrior that everyone expects her to be.

So, in my review for book one of this series, I said that I wasn’t sure if I was going to read book 2 because I wasn’t all that intrigued as I thought I was going to be. When I realized The Dark Days Pact was coming out, I decided to add it to my reading list anyway because I had already read the first book, maybe book 2 would take me by surprise. And the crazy thing is, it did. Now that Lady Helen was free from her overbearing uncle’s house and she was officially sworn into the Dark Days Club, things are less aggravating. Carlston is slightly more open with her about matters pretaining to the Club and other than Lady Margaret – Mr. Hammond’s sister – no one is really telling Helen what she cannot do.

Although, if we’re being completely honest, I do sometimes hate books from this time period only because of how women are treated. Take Mr. Pike, for example. The new secretary for the Home Office, doesn’t like Lady Helen at all and is slightly miffed that a woman is going to be joining their ranks. Add in the fact that Helen is also going to be taking her maid Darby on as her Teresene and I was disgusted by his reaction. And I get that during that time period it was appropriate because a woman was ‘sensible,’ but when you start thinking that there are others in THIS time period who think like that, I get really pissed off. Anyway, I also got really annoyed with the Duke of Selburn. The guy just could not take a hint could he? I mean, Helen in the last book told him that she couldn’t accept his proposal and yet he shows up in Brighton to try and convince her that he’s still a suitable match. And when she still won’t have it, he starts following her to make sure she isn’t getting involved in some nasty business because of Lord Carlston. Dude. Boundaries. As for the interesting Lord Carlston, I’m not sure what to make of him. Is what he felt towards Lady Helen just because they needed to be bonded to become the Grand Reclaimer? Or does he truly love Helen? I am actually curious to find out.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. A much better sequel to a drab first novel. The plot in this case really does thicken as the investigation into the Grand Deceiver turns up a few new clues. I’m not sure if I like the love triangle in this one – or in this case a love square – but I have a feeling that it will be worked out in the next book. Carlston doesn’t seem the type to give up easily. Unfortunately for us, neither does the Duke.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

