Revisited: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

lightning-thief1Title: The Lightning Thief
Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Percy Jackson & the Olympians
Date Originally Started: January 30, 2013
Date Originally Finished: February 4, 2013
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse-Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends — one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena — Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

I broke my cardinal rule when it comes to books that are adapted into movies and I saw the movie first. In my defense, the movie came out in 2010 and my friend who had read the books desperately wanted to go see it with someone, so I tagged along thinking why not? The guy who directed the first two Harry Potter movies directed this, it could be good. And because I hadn’t read the books I thought it was good. My friend was scoffing during the whole movie and told me that I needed to read the books to understand. So three years later – after I got back into reading – I added the series to my reading list and my friend was right. The books are loads better.

Usually when novels are told in first person I kind of don’t like the book. Inner monologues sometimes drive me crazy, but with Percy he was sarcastic as hell – especially for a twelve-year-old – and I was trying not to crack up both when I originally read the book – I would do so in the mornings before I went to class – and at work this past week. The only real problem that I had with The Lightning Thief was the fact that the chapters became very predictable. The trio go further on their quest, a monster attacks them, rinse and repeat. I wish that Riordan would have switched it up a bit.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Other than the predictable chapter outcomes, it was a good story and the whole prophecy thing is actually really interesting. I’m curious to see what happens to Jackson now.

Bookshelf worthy? It took me forever to find all the hardcovers – and then they did a cover redesign. I was pissed.

 

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Greek Mythology, Mystery, Paranormal, Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, Rick Riordan, Youth Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

