New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

new-moon-book-coverTitle: New Moon
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Series: The Twilight Saga
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Twilight
1.5. Life and Death
Date Started: February 4
Date Finished: February 7
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

For Bella Swan, there is one thing more important than life itself: Edward Cullen. But being in love with a vampire is even more dangerous than Bella could ever have imagined. Edward has already rescued Bella from the clutches of one evil vampire, but now, as their daring relationship threatens all that is near and dear to them, they realize their troubles may be just beginning…

So back when this book first came out, I was so excited that there was a sequel to Twilight that when my best friend called me over the summer to let me know that Borders (RIP) already had copies three weeks before the release date, I instantly made plans to go out and get it. Even though she also told me that I probably wasn’t going to like the beginning because she knew how big of a Team Edward fan I was. When I finally got my hands on the book and began reading it, I was devastated. In fact throughout the whole book I was completely wrecked just like Bella. Of course, that was almost eleven years ago.

Now that I’m reading it as an adult, I see what everyone meant with how Bella could be so stupid. After everything that Edward went through, the promises he made and hell even the conversation that they had on Bella’s birthday right before Jasper attacked, you would think that she would have been able to see through his lie. But because of her insecurities about herself – which is really sad and frustrating – she believed it without him having to go to the lengths he thought. Something else that has changed for me is that I could actually now see Bella with Jacob – even though I know how the series ends and that these things happened for a reason, blah, blah – because in reality he really is the sanest choice.

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. Once you get past the whole Bella pit of despair thing, and she starts hanging out with Jake things actually flow easily. Sometimes the writing gets a little juvenile, but the comic element in some of the lines – “You’re wounding my ego, Bella. I just proposed, and you think it’s a joke.” – actually makes up for all the darkness and holes.

Bookshelf worthy? Watch the movie.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Paranormal, Romance, Stephenie Meyer, The Twilight Saga, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

  1. Pingback: Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

