Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760Title: Scarlet
Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles
Previous Book in the Series:
1. Cinder
Date Started: February 3
Date Finished: February 4
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

I have to admit that after all the good things I heard about Scarlet, I was ready to be disappointed because that is usually how it goes for me. Especially with series that are sequels, but really aren’t because they introduce new characters without seeing any of the old ones. However, this book is different because it does show me the characters I came to know in Cinder while also introducing new ones and having all their paths somewhat intersect. I liked Scarlet’s character – she is really no nonsense and will do anything to save her grandmother. Ditto to Captain Thorne who was the comedic relief this book needed when it got to be too serious. Wolf on the other hand…I’m still undecided about him because I’m still trying to figure him out. If I understood this correctly, he is one of those creatures that Levana was working on and had stationed on Earth so that way she could invade it easier? But because he believes Scarlet to be his mate he was able to override his master’s wishes? Am I getting that right?

I don’t know, his character is strange, but I do like the fact that he is willing to protect Scarlet and help Cinder because she is his rightful queen. As for Levana…man. Just when I think I understand that woman, Meyer writes in a chapter – like the one after the proposal with her watching the new recruits train – that makes me question everything. Like I know she is the villain here, she’s going to kill Kai as soon as she’s crowned emperess, but…I don’t know I feel like she’s hiding something.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I really liked how this book introduced us to a set of new characters, but also had the old characters continue on with their story line. I also liked how things seemed to intersect. Looking forward to book 3!

Bookshelf worthy? Iko would be disappointed if you didn’t have these already.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, Favorite Authors, Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Cress by Marissa Meyer | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

