Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce

alanna-first-adventure-coverTitle: Alanna: The First Adventure
Author: Tamora Pierce
Series: The Song of the Lioness Quartet
Date Read: January 30
Format: ebook from the digital library

From now on I’m Alan of Trebond, the younger twin. I’ll be a knight. And so young Alanna of Trebond begins the journey to knighthood. Though a girl, Alanna has always craved the adventure and daring allowed only for boys; her twin brother, Thom, yearns to learn the art of magic. So one day they decide to switch places: Thom heads for the convent to learn magic; Alanna, pretending to be a boy, is on her way to the castle of King Roald to begin her training as a page.

But the road to knighthood is not an easy one. As Alanna masters the skills necessary for battle, she must also learn to control her heart and to discern her enemies from her allies. Filled with swords and sorcery, adventure and intrigue, good and evil, Alanna’s first adventure begins – one that will lead to the fulfillment of her dreams and the magical destiny that will make her a legend in her land.

When I was 10, my cousin who got me into Sailor Moon, Magic Knight Rayearth, and various other things, handed me this book and said ‘I think you’ll like this. Read it.’ And so began my love affair of Tamora Pierce’s works. If I’m being completely honest Alanna was the book that really got me interested in fantasy – I mean, sure there was a Harry Potter a few years before, but that was just a taste – and I was a little reluctant to read her works now 15 years later. Books that I loved in my childhood that I’ve revisited as an adult haven’t held the same power for me, and I was afraid the same would be true here. But I’m thankful that that didn’t happen.

Alanna is still the wonderful story I remembered as a kid. A girl who doesn’t want to become a lady, but wants to become a knight switches places with her twin brother and off she goes to fulfill her destiny. Along the way she meets these amazing characters who have her back no matter the circumstances. And one not so honest character who she can’t put her finger on as to why she dislike’s him so. I think my favorite part of this book was when these characters – George, the King of Thieves, and Jonathan, the Prince of Tortall – find out who Alan of Trebond really is, they don’t even bat an eyelash. Respect.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. A childhood favorite that I’m glad I haven’t outgrown. An easy and quick read with some political intrigue and funny moments.

Bookshelf worthy? These are books that if I had the shelf space I would happily own them all. But alas, I don’t, so onto my Kindle wishlist they go.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Favorite Authors, Mystery, Regency, Tamora Pierce, The Song of the Lioness Quartet, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce

  1. Pingback: In the Hand of the Goddess by Tamora Pierce | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: The Woman Who Rides Like a Man by Tamora Pierce | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  3. Pingback: Lioness Rampant by Tamora Pierce | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

