Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer

latestTitle: Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Series: The Twilight Saga
Previous Book in the Series:
1. Twilight
Date Started: January 23
Date Finished: January 24
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

The quickest summary of a book ever: Take the original and gender swap all the roles of this book and you’ve pretty much got Life and Death. I’ll admit when I first heard about this I was annoyed. For the tenth anniversary she released a gender bend version of Twilight instead of Midnight Sun which is what I really wanted to see? How lame. And as the reviews poured in for it, I was just skeptical to even try reading it. When I finally got around to it a few days ago, I was biting my lip through the first five chapters, because I was going out of my mind with boredom. It was almost like the same story, just with Beau instead of Bella, Edythe instead of Edward, McKayla instead of Mike – although I have to admit with this character the female version was more annoying than the male – and so on. I was half tempted to stop reading it and leave it abandoned.

But I soldiered on and you know what it actually got better and if anything I liked it better than the original. Don’t get me wrong this book still had its problems there were some scenes that the gender bend just didn’t work for – like the accident in the school parking lot, the final face off with the hunter – but otherwise I’m curious to know what it means that I found that Edythe was more forthcoming with information and Beau was less guarded about his thoughts than their original characters were. As for the ending, well, on one hand I liked it because it really worked with the way the characters were portrayed. But on the other hand, I think it was a little bit of a cop out by Meyer so that way she didn’t have to write three more books so we could see how those stories ended.

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. I still think the reading was a little bit bland and honestly, those first few chapters bored me to tears. But other than that I actually liked this version of the story more than I did the original. I still would have preferred reading Edward’s POV in a completed Midnight Sun, but there’s always the fifteenth anniversary, right?

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Paranormal, Romance, Stephenie Meyer, The Twilight Saga, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer

  1. Pingback: New Moon by Stephenie Meyer | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  3. Pingback: Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  4. Pingback: Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a comment