Frostbite by Richelle Mead

frostbite_novelTitle: Frostbite
Author: Richelle Mead
Series: Vampire Academy
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Vampire Academy
Date Started: January 20
Date Finished: January 21
Format: Paperback from my shelf

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them. Rose has serious guy trouble. Her gorgeous tutor, Dimitri, has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason has a huge crush on her, and she keeps getting stuck in her best friend Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian.

Then a nearby Strigoi attack puts St. Vladimir’s on high alert, and the Academy whisks its students away on a mandatory holiday ski trip. But the glittering winter landscape and posh Idaho resort only provide the illusion of safety. When three students run away to strike back against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. Only this time, Rose – and her heart – are in more danger than she ever could have imagined…

As it’s been documented on this blog, book 2’s in a series where I liked book 1 don’t usually hold up for me. However, when it comes to Vampire Academy book 2 delivered everything I wanted and more. Not only does Frostbite pick up where book 1 left off, but it also continues on with our favorite narrator while introducing new characters and upping the action. Not to mention the further exploration of Rose and Dimitri’s relationship. Rose believe it or not actually had some interesting character development in this book, even if there were times I thought she was taking steps back and running her mouth when she really shouldn’t. But then again a reserved Rose Hathaway would just be weird.

I also wasn’t sure that I liked that she was stringing Mason along. I get why she started that relationship, I do, and I have to give her kudos that when she realized that she was still thinking about Dimitri while she was with him she was going to break it off with him, I’m still not happy about it. Add in that Rose never really broke up with him before he *spoiler alert even though this book was released in 2008* died and that whole plot line made me wince. However, the new character of Adrian always makes me smile whenever I read his entrance to the series. He’s fantastic, despite all his bad habits. As for Rose’s relationship with her mother, I thought that when I got older her brusquness towards Rose wouldn’t annoy me as much, but I was wrong. When she was so short and talking down to Rose I got really annoyed. It wasn’t until the end that I really started to appreciate the character of Janine Hathaway.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. A good continuation of what was started in book 1. I didn’t like the whole Mason/Rose storyline even though I knew it had good intentions. Now that Rose and Dimitri are no longer fighting their feelings for each other, I wonder how things are going to progress and get complicated from here?

Bookshelf worthy? I’m surprised my paperbacks aren’t falling apart from how many times I read these when I was in college.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite Authors, Mystery, Paranormal, Richelle Mead, Romance, Vampire Academy Series, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frostbite by Richelle Mead

  1. Pingback: Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Blood Promise by Richelle Mead | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  3. Pingback: Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  4. Pingback: Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

