Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman

13138736Title: Their Fractured Light
Authors: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Series: Starbound Trilogy
Previous Books in the Series:
1. These Broken Stars
2. This Shattered World
Date Started: January 17
Date Finished: January 18
Format: Hardcover from local library

A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world’s gaze.

Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He’ll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others don’t dare touch.

Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you’re done noticing it, she’s got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost. When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia’s separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they’re forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide.

Here is another book in a ‘series’ that really isn’t. In Their Fractured Light we’re introduced to two new characters who have their own personal vendetta against LaRoux Industries. Sofia who was on Avon during the whole craziness in the last book and who’s father was a victim of the husks and then there’s Gideon who is a hacker that was helping Tarver and Lilac, but has his own hidden past that doesn’t get revealed until just the right second. What’s cool about this book is that even though we do have these two new characters, characters from the previous two books – Tarver, Lilac, Jubilee and Flynn – show up and team up to take down LaRoux Industries once and for all.

I’ll admit that the science in this book with the whole rift and whispers thing did go over my head again, but it didn’t take away from the general story. I also liked Sofia and Gideon’s relationship. Neither of them trust the other, except for Gideon who is willing to do anything for Sofia and their whole back and forth of should they, shouldn’t they was actually really entertaining to watch. It was also a nice change of pace from that whole instant love thing that goes on in some books.

Final rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Not a bad conclusion to a series that had six separate characters. The science angle did go over my head in places, and the ending was left a little bit open, but other than that I really enjoyed myself reading these books.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!


About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Amie Kaufman, Book Reviews, Romance, Science Fiction, The Starbound Trilogy with Meagan Spooner, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s