Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

geminaTitle: Gemina
Author: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Series: The Illuminae Files
Previous Book in the Series:
1. Illuminae
Date Started: December 28
Date Finished: December 30
Format: Hardcover from local library

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed. The saga that began with Illuminae continues on board the space station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of BeiTech’s assault. Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter, Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum may be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival. The fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands. But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

This time last year – I’m writing this post on New Year’s Eve – I kept hearing about Illuminae, but when I read the summary it didn’t sound like something that was up my alley. Then one of my tumblr friends read it, raved about it, and I decided to give it a shot. She’s the one who got me into the Mara Dyer trilogy and other fandom related things, so I knew that she wouldn’t lead me astray. Fast forward a year, and I really wish that I could slap last year’s me in the face for being so late to the bandwagon. I guess, the only benefit of being so late was that I was able to read two of these fantastic novels this year instead of just one.

When I finished reading Gemina, I posted on Goodreads that I wished that I could give this book six out of five stars and if you’ve been following this blog you know that’s saying something. Considering I’ve been in a reading slump off and on over the last month, this book was welcome. Although some of it I really could have done without – ahem worms. But Hanna and Nik are just as swoon worthy as Kady and Ezra were in the last book. And I love how Kaufman and Kristoff made a companion book into a sequel with the crossover of characters. Also a plus? The format of this book again. I love how it’s told like it’s a case file; with surveillance videos, IM conversations, e-mails, journal drawings and accounts from a certain AI system. Props to the book design team – which includes Jay Kristoff himself. Hopefully the next book is coming out soon?

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. A much needed book in my current reading slump. Characters were fantastic. The action was fantastic, although the scenes with the worms are giving me nightmares, again. And the whole different timeline thing was a trip for my poor head. But other than that. LOVED IT.

Bookshelf worthy? I wish I could add this to my Kindle wishlist, but the format of this book I think would be weird in ebook form.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Amie Kaufman, Book Reviews, Romance, Science Fiction, The Illuminae Files series with Jay Kristoff, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

  1. Rine says:

    I’m glad you loved this book so much. I know a lot of people have been pretty negative about it because of the changes from lluminae. You won’t have to wait too long for the next book which is also a positive of getting to it later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

