The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528Title: The Unexpected Everything
Author: Morgan Matson
Date Started: December 12
Date Finished: December 13
Format: ebook from the digital library

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan. Future? A top-tier medical school. Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around). Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else? Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks. So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

I think I found a new favorite author. This is the third novel from Matson that I’ve read this year and this one was absolutely perfect. After the last few books I’ve been reading lately have turned to duds in my somewhat reading slump, I started this one a little timidly. But hot damn if this wasn’t what I needed. Andie is perfect, to the point where it was almost kind of annoying, but when her plans fall through for the summer she really takes up the opportunity and her impulsive summer becomes the best summer ever. The guy she meets – Clark – who turns out to be a fantasy writer – which made me want to start work on editing my NaNoWriMo project from last year – who is basically the sweetest thing in the world. When their first date basically went up in smoke, I was disappointed, but when the dog got sick and Clark needed Andie’s help I was ecstatic. Their relationship was too cute for words.

Andie’s relationship with all her friends really made this book top notch and when the little bit of conflict was thrown in that kind of messed up the perfect summer my heart broke along with Andie’s. I also liked the way the relationship between Andie and her father progressed through this novel. When the book first started it looked like Andie’s dad was going to be like typical YA parents – annoying and way too controlling in their kid’s lives – but after the big blowup between the two, they really worked on their relationship it made me smile. As a daughter who is really close to her dad, I always like when the female MC’s have a good relationship with their dads.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. This was pretty much the book I needed to get me out of my reading slump. The characters were fantastic. The dialogue was snappy and witty and perfect. The relationship dynamics between characters was wonderful and even the drama was well placed. This book definitely lived up to its title. The Unexpected Everything!

Bookshelf worthy? I might have to add this book to my Kindle wishlist.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

  1. I’m so glad you loved The Unexpected Everything! I did too- it was amazing! It wasn’t my favourite of hers, though, I liked Since You’ve Been Gone and Second Chance Summer more. I can’t wait for her new book (in 2018😩)! Great review😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

