Dreamology by Lucy Keating

23466626Title: Dreamology
Author: Lucy Keating
Date Started: December 6
Date Finished: December 8
Format: Hardcover from local library

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together, they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist. But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. Real Max is nothing like Dream Max. He’s stubborn and complicated. And he has a whole life Alice isn’t a part of. Getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped. Alarmingly, when their dreams start to bleed into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

I was really excited to read Dreamology. I liked the concept of this book and it was a much needed distraction from the fantasy haze that I’ve been under since Thanksgiving. However, I’m not one hundred percent sure that I really loved it. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, but there were a few things that drove me a little bit crazy. For one thing, Alice is a very ‘ditzy’ character. She’s in her head a lot and when Max accuses her of wanting to stay in her dream worlds, I got where he was coming from. If it wasn’t for the fact that she had Max and was seeing some of her dreams bleed into her reality, I think she would have continued her dream relationship with him. Max, on the other hand, appears to be the boy of her dreams, but when she actually runs into him in the real world, I actually found him kind of douchey. I get that when he sees her for the first time he freaks out, but to be so mean to her? Ouch.

Also douchey? The way he keeps kissing Alice even though he has a girlfriend – Celeste, who is the nicest person in the world really – and always throws what they did together in Alice’s face later. Like no I didn’t mean to kiss you. It didn’t mean anything. We really shouldn’t be friends because I’ve worked too hard to escape my dreamworld while you haven’t. Gah. I don’t like him. I preferred Oliver – Max’s ex-friend, and the only person (except Celeste) who was nice to Alice when she arrived in Boston – over him any day. Also everyone’s reactions to finding out Max and Alice have known each other their whole lives because they’ve been dreaming about each other? Very…boring. Like, hey, this isn’t totally weird that you two have been dreaming about each other. It’s just…science.

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. I’m seriously in a reading slump. Books that should be great are turning out be mediocre and I’m being really nit picky about details. I suck.

Bookshelf worthy? Support  your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

