Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

13188676Title: Ignite Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me Trilogy
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Shatter Me
2. Unravel Me
Date Started: November 15
Date Finished: November 17
Format: Hardcover from local library

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

*screams into the fathomless void* Okay, look, I know I’ve said it many, many times but just in case you need a reminder: I don’t like final books in series. There’s just something about them that don’t live up to the hype that they’ve created. However, that being said, I have been proven wrong before in the past and with this book I was definitely proven wrong. Not only did this book have a satisfying conclusion – mostly but we’ll get into that later – but it also had ridiculously good character development, a couple that was worth fighting for, and friends that just kept bringing a smile to my face. Not once did I find myself bored with this book. If anything I found myself annoyed that people would come and interrupt me just when the book was getting really good.

The character development that Juliette has gone through since we found her in that insane asylum is just downright insane. She’s grown from this girl who was weak and timid, to a girl who has been shot and now knows what she wants. Her relationship with Warner – Aaron? – is just…*squeals* let’s just say that it’s been a while since I’ve had a couple to ship and man, does it feel great. And the friends that Juliette has around her just made me smile with every interaction. Don’t get me wrong I was still pissed at Adam for a good chunk of the book, but he eventually got back on my good side, it helped that he made Juliette realize that she can control her abilities. And the most important part – turn them off.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Good character development. A wonderful, tortured love interest, and friends that kept making me smile – especially a BFF with a guy with no romantic entanglements three cheers. But the ending while satisfying in theory was not as satisfying in execution. What happens to everyone now? Do they live happily ever after? Do they right the world? I really would like to know!!

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Dystopian, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. haylee2117 says:

    does this book have a lot of twists and turns?

    Like

Leave a Reply

