Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

13104080Title: Unravel Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me Trilogy
Previous Book in the Series:
1. Shatter Me
Date Started: November 12
Date Finished: November 14
Format: Hardcover from local library

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance. She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch. Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

Considering everything that’s going on in the world, reading a dysotopian novel right now is probably not the best idea. However, it is also National Novel Writing Month and this beautiful, beautiful book gave me ideas on how to move my story forward. Mafi has a gift for taking a character that was absolutely hated in the last book and turning him into a character that I didn’t quite see coming. For the record, I am about to spoil some plot points so if you haven’t read this book yet, ignore the next paragraph. 

When we met Warner in Shatter Me, I thought this guy was a psychopath who was a little bit too obsessed with Juliette. I mean, this guy held her in an insane asylum. Followed her every move for years and held her captive and made her do things using her talents that she did not want to do. Not to mention what he did when he realized that he could in fact touch her without dying. This man disgusted me. When Juliette ran into him again in this book, I was ready for a fight to the death. But then…we find out that Warner and Adam are actually half-brothers. And unlike Adam, Warner can touch Juliette with no side effects. He just gets to have a taste of her power. Those two spend time together, and when Juliette realizes that she’s attracted to him, my mind was blown. Because instead of feeling hate towards him, I was feeling warm butterflies in my stomach like I usually do when I start shipping two characters together. And yeah, I might get blasted for it because he was a real psycho in the first book and just because of a tragic backstory I’m willing to forgive him. Well, no. I’m willing to forgive him because when Juliette got shot he did everything in his power to save her.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. I wish I had the ability to turn a character everyone hates into one that everyone loves. I’ve tried before and it didn’t go over well for me. I’m now curious to see what happens to Juliette and Warner. Does she really choose him? And what about the Reestablishment?

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Dystopian, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

