Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder_official_book_cover_by_marissa_meyerTitle: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: Lunar Chronicles
Date Started: November 7
Date Finished: November 8
Format: Hardcover from my own shelf

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Before I even start this review, I want to be clear, I’m slightly biased towards Meyer’s writing, only because when I was a young, just starting out fanfic writer, her Sailor Moon fanfics were the ones I turned to when I was in need of a good, emotional, story. Her fairy tale replay of the Grimm stories has made me cry, many, many times. Also, I originally read this book when it was first released, I just figured I’d give it another read through before I continue on with the series – whose books have indeed sat on my bookshelf unread for years (believe me, it’s a long story). Okay? Okay.

From the summary of this book, Cinder doesn’t seem to be the type of book that was up my alley. Science fiction, cyborgs, androids, the science of it alone would probably go over my head. However, because it was a new take on a beloved fairy tale I’d figured I’d give it a shot and what better book to start reading after a Game of Thrones book? And you know what? It was good. The science fiction aspects of it don’t get too over the top confusing. The added dimension of a main character being a cyborg, her best friend being an android, just adds to the story. The flirtation between Cinder and the prince Kai was downright cute. And the added conflict of a plague, discrimination against not only cyborgs but Lunars was also mysterious. I won’t even get into the villainy of Queen Levana. I mean it’s pretty bad when she outdoes the evil of the evil stepmother. Although, with that slight twist at the end, maybe she didn’t outdo her after all.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Cinder was great. The characters were wonderful. The world building excellent. The conflict was okay, I wish there had been more of it. And to be honest I don’t get why everyone ships Cinder/Kai. After the way he treated her at the end of the book, I’m not all that happy with him at the moment. But maybe there’s something in the other books that I’m not seeing just yet? Guess I’ll find out.

Bookshelf worthy? The cover art on these is brilliantly done.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer, Mystery, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

