Infinite by Jodi Meadows

infinite-jodi-meadowsTitle: Infinite
Author: Jodi Meadows
Series: Newsoul Trilogy
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Incarnate
2. Asunder
Date Started: October 27
Date Finished: October 28
Format: Hardcover from local library

The Year of Souls begins with an earthquake—an alarming rumble from deep within the earth—and it’s only the first of greater dangers to come. The Range caldera is preparing to erupt. Ana knows that as Soul Night approaches, everything near Heart will be at risk. Ana’s exile is frightening, but it may also be fortuitous, especially if she can convince her friends to flee Heart and Range with her. They’ll go north, seeking answers and allies to stop Janan’s ascension. And with any luck, the newsouls will be safe from harm’s reach. The oldsouls might have forgotten the choice they made to give themselves limitless lifetimes, but Ana knows the true cost of reincarnation. What she doesn’t know is whether she’ll have the chance to finish this one sweet life with Sam, especially if she returns to Heart to stop Janan once and for all.

How is it possible that a book that is supposed to be the conclusion to a series still left me with so many questions? I mean, look, I get it Janan is a power hungry guy and the opportunity for him to become immortal should not have been surprising to me. That being said though, the fact that he actually honored his promise to help the original million was quite a shock to my system. Also a shock? How many people died in this book! I mean, honestly, I thought Game of Thrones was bad but this book could easily top them. You would think after all these years of reading I would know better than to get attached to characters, but no…

Anyway, I digress. Ana is still timid, but somehow not as timid as before. There are still things that scare her, but the fact that she has a mission to save not only the new souls, but all of Heart, kind of helps her a little bit. She makes some very brave decisions to help everyone, even if that means separating herself from her friends. There was a good 100 pages during Infinite that I thought for sure that Sam and her weren’t going to last because of the white lie she told to spare his feelings. But I was shocked to see that they overcame that. What I can’t overcome is the ending. I mean, I get that Janan had to be stopped somehow…but how exactly was he stopped? I get the music thing – the big ‘weapon’ that dragons feared and all – but after that? Kind of a blur. And let’s be honest how weird is it that Ana can communicate not only with the sylph but with dragons and phoenixes too?

Final Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars. I’m bumping it up a little bit because this book did have me glued to the edge of my seat, whether in confusion or anticipation. I still think that not everything was really explained clearly, but I was still impressed with the amount of detail and thought put in. Also, “They’ve made your death a priority for thousands of years, and not only is that rude, it’s just so focused,” (pg. 293). that had to be my favorite line.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

