Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

18189606Title: Since You’ve Been Gone
Author: Morgan Matson
Date Started: October 21
Date Finished: October 24
Format: Hardcover from local library

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough. Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a stranger? Um… Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find? Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

As you know books like this are my kryptonite, and after reading Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, I decided to give another Morgan Matson novel a shot. This one kept popping up on Pinterest and once I read the summary I knew that I was going to be in for one interesting ride. This book kind of reminds me of Paper Towns, where Emily’s best friend just disappears without a trace and just leaves her a list of things to do that she knows that she will have issues doing. I loved how timid Emily was, she reminded me a lot of myself actually. I also loved the character of Frank. He was perfect for this journey and you know how much I love relationships that start out with friendship first. I especially liked how Emily’s perception of Frank at the beginning was proven wrong by the time she really got to know him. It made me smile a lot.

In reality, there really wasn’t all that much wrong with this book. The characters were loveable, the chapters that seemed a little lengthy at the beginning actually turned out to be the right length, and the plot was cute and not all that serious. If I really have to nitpick on a few things though I guess it will be these: I kind of wish the whole Gideon/Emily situation had been more resolved by the end of the book. On one hand I get what happened there, but on the other I wished that Emily had gotten a chance to explain what really happened to Gideon instead of having him leave in his car. The other thing that I’ll nitpick on is this whole issue with Frank and Emily’s relationship. I’m mad at Emily for avoiding Frank when she realized she had feelings for him, even though he was dating someone else. However, that crazy kiss that happened the night of the party was pretty stupid and her reaction to Frank trying to talk to her the following week, drove me nuts. It’s like, you don’t really know that Frank is going to say that you two can’t be friends, so at least give him the chance to say his piece before you jump to conclusions and cowardly run away. Ugh.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. I rather enjoyed myself reading this book, and again I love how music was such an integrate part of the story. Emily and Frank were wonderful. I even liked the character of Sloane for making Emily test her own boundaries. It would have been nice to know how things ended with Dawn/Collins now that Frank and Emily were together.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

