Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

5148autu8ql-_sy344_bo1204203200_Title: Isla and the Happily Ever After
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Sequel to:
Anna and the French Kiss
Lola and the Boy Next Door
Date Started: October 3
Date Finished: October 7
Format: ebook from the digital library

From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

So the book I originally took to work on Monday turned out to be a complete dud and I found that out in the very beginning of my shift. I was looking at 6+ hours of boredom, until while I was perusing the digital library I found that this book was available. I downloaded it and began devouring it. Isla and the Happily Ever After is one of those books that made me smile a lot. I loved Isla and how she is a reader who doesn’t like taking risks all that often and has a gigantic crush on Josh – St. Clair’s friend who was younger than the rest of the group. What she didn’t realize was that Josh had a crush on her too when they were freshman, but because of how flustered she acted around him, she didn’t think that she liked him back and went on with his life. So when they run into each other at a cafe called Kismet (how cute) during summer vacation, Isla decides (with the help of the painkillers from her wisdom teeth removal) to talk to him. The next day she doesn’t remember anything and tries to meet him again, but to no avail.

She goes back to France to start her senior year and is shocked when Josh turns out to be in a lot of her classes and even more so when he actually talks to her. It gets crazier when after talking for a bit he asks her out and confesses that he likes her. It’s wonderful and great, but Isla still isn’t happy and that’s when I kind of got annoyed. I realize that some sort of drama needs to happen or else there really isn’t a climax, but to make Isla so insecure in her relationship with Josh just because he knows what he wants in his future and Isla doesn’t, kind of annoyed me. Like, I was where Isla was – didn’t really know what I wanted to do with my life at the end of high school, didn’t really know where I was going to college – but I didn’t get all depressed and weird about it. Your 17 – 18 in Isla’s case – it’s okay NOT to know these things. Yeah, you’re going to be jealous of the people who do, but for all you know their lives are going to go in a complete opposite direction down the line.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. I loved the story and the characters. I also liked how Perkins tied in the fates of Anna/St.Clair and Lola/Cricket. It was adorable and made me wish for another book to see Anna and St. Clair’s wedding!

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

  1. BeanCountingBookworm says:

    This was my favourite in the series. I just really enjoyed the relationship and characters the most. It was also a really nice payoff from the previous ooks. But I agree I would like more of st Clair and Anna

    Like

Leave a Reply

