The King Slayer by Virginia Boecker

tks_revised-2-199x300Title: The King Slayer
Author: Virginia Boecker
Sequel to: The Witch Hunter
Date Started: September 8
Date Finished: September 9
Format: Hardcover from local library

“I think, in time, you’ll either be my greatest mistake or my greatest victory.”

Former witch hunter Elizabeth Grey is hiding within the magically protected village of Harrow, evading the price put on her head by Lord Blackwell, the usurper king of Anglia. Their last encounter left Blackwell ruined, but his thirst for power grows stronger every day. He’s readying for a war against those who would resist his rule—namely Elizabeth and the witches and wizards she now calls her allies.

Having lost her stigma, a magical source of protection and healing, Elizabeth’s strength is tested both physically and emotionally. War always means sacrifice, and as the lines between good and evil blur once more, Elizabeth must decide just how far she’ll go to save those she loves.

After having my emotions wrecked by the last two books I read, I was in desperate need of a book that was funny and who’s characters I wasn’t all that emotionally invested in. Enter The King Slayer. It’s been over a year since I read the previous novel, so I figured for sure that I wasn’t going to be too broken up about characters and their fates. I was right. While this book still has the action-packed pace, I think it kind of stepped away from the characters that were in the previous book. Elizabeth is too headstrong now. She tries to fix all of her mistakes by doing really stupid things a lot of the time. John, with Elizabeth’s stigma, becomes a whole different person that I actually was afraid of him for a little bit there. Should have guessed that ‘light’ magic and ‘dark’ magic can’t really interact in the same body without some sort of consequence. Especially with magic that strong. I kind of wish that Fifer and Schuyler had been in this book more, they were the comic relief when things were getting too serious, not to mention that they were sometimes the only voice of reason – that Elizabeth didn’t listen to – when Elizabeth got ideas in her head that weren’t all good ones.

The fall of Blackwell was a little bit confusing, and if I’m to be honest a little too easy. I know some people will fight me on this, but when Nicholas and John died I was kind of numb to it all. Probably because I thought that there was going to be a trick up Boecker’s sleeve, or I’m so numb from those other two books…

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. This book lost some of the sparkle that The Witch Hunter had. Characters made stupid decisions. Characters who you thought weren’t going to show up did, and kind of messed with the plot lines. Not to mention there was an ending for the land of Anglia, John’s father, and John and Elizabeth, but what about everyone else?

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

