A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

a-court-of-mist-fury-cover-sarah-j-maasTitle: A Court of Mist and Fury
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Sequel to: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Date Started: September 5
Date Finished: September 7
Format: Hardcover from my own shelf

Once upon a time there was a girl who killed a wolf that turned out to be a faerie. That faerie’s lord came to take the girl back to his land because of a treaty. There she was to stay for the rest of her days. But this land was cursed and there were many monsters that roamed there, so the girl stayed in the faerie lord’s mansion, where her fear of the lord and his staff soon seemed to diminish. The lord and the girl grew closer, but the curse on the land was getting worse. To protect the girl from the curse, the lord sent her home, but she could not stay there not when she learned the startling truth that she had fallen in love with the lord. She went back only to find the lord and the rest of his staff gone, the house ransacked, all except one. This one told her about the true origins of the curse and how it was too late for the girl to stop it. But not wanting to bow to defeat and leave her lord in the evil witch’s clutches, she convinced the lone member of the staff to show her where the lord had been taken. When she got to the dominion of evil, she realized that she was a fool for the evil witch was truly evil incarnate and would stop at nothing to break her. But she was fair and allowed the girl three tasks to prove her love for the lord. The first two tasks nearly broke her, if it weren’t for a darker lord and his deal that saved her. The third task though, did break her, even though she succeeded and ensnarled the evil witch’s wrath. Not happy that she had lost, the evil witch tortured her to death. But before she died, she answered the evil witch’s riddle that broke the curse on the lord and the other faeries. To show their appreciation, the seven high lords of the fae gifted her life, only she was reborn a faerie like them. And so she lived happily ever after…

Not. It’s been three months since the events of A Court of Thorns and Roses and everything is not happy endings and rainbows. Feyre has been having nightmares about her time Under the Mountain. As has Tamlin. But neither one of them wants to talk to the other about it. So they do what they do best. Ignore. Feyre is planning her wedding to Tamlin with the help of the high priestess. And Tamlin is getting his lands back in order while also making sure his guards protect Feyre, because after hearing her neck snap and watching her die he won’t be doing so again. But he doesn’t see how suffocated Feyre is and that it isn’t good for her. So on the day of their wedding, Feyre is having a mild panic attack as she walks down the aisle and realizes that she can’t take that final step to Tamlin. She begs for anyone to save her, when Rhysand shows up. The High Lord of the Night Court has not been seen since that last day Under the Mountain and everyone in the Spring Court thought that he had forgotten about his deal with Feyre. But apparently not. He’s come to collect and at the best time.

Feyre goes with Rhysand and despite being grateful for the escape, she wonders as to what his motives are. It turns out he has another proposition for her – one that doesn’t involve anymore deals – while she’s at the Night Court during her one week, he wants her to work for him, help him with a task that might stop the war that is inevitable between the King of Hybern and the Wall that separates the land of Pyriathan and the human realm. At first Feyre refuses, she doesn’t want to cause anymore tension with this bond with Tamlin than necessary. But as the weeks go by and she wishes to spend more time at the free Night Court than in the stifling Spring Court, she starts to reconsider.

So before I even started A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOMAF), I went back and reread A Court of Thorns and Roses to rehash my memories about what happened in that book. I’m kind of glad that I did. Because I was able to see just how broken Feyre had become on that last task, so when the second book began I understood what she was going through. She was not the same Feyre that she was before she wend Under the Mountain. However, that didn’t mean I wasn’t going to be pissed about it. And yes, I was pissed. Look, I get it what Feyre and Tamlin went through was horrible, but did that mean that Tamlin had to be so controlling? Seriously, when he kept adding guards, when he kept refusing for Feyre to go with him on these missions, I just knew that he was going to lose her. Especially when Rhysand came into the picture and gave her the freedom and the space that she required. When Tamlin used his magic to lock up the house, making it impossible for Feyre to leave, I knew that she was done with him. Tamlin was the definition of controlling boyfriend/alpha male. But I was okay with that. Because with what Rhysand was doing for Feyre I was kind of leaning towards him anyway, even though I had my reservations.

I still remembered all those things he did while Under the Mountain and it wasn’t until chapter 54 that I understood what exactly it was he was doing. When chapter 55 hit*, I was an absolute goner and there was a part of me that didn’t want to finish the book because I knew that with less than 100 pages to go and the fact that there was a sequel, things were probably not going to end well. And I was right. My emotions were shattered for the second time in a week. When I finished ACOMAF I needed liquor (and if you know me, you know that’s bad because I NEVER drink).  I’m hoping that the next books on my reading list aren’t as traumatic as these last two have been because I need to get my feels together before the sequel to this one comes out next year. *Can we talk about the fact that the sex scenes in this book were extremely detailed for a book that is supposed to be YA? I mean, I’m no prude. But DAMN!

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. The progression and the growth of the characters in these pages just makes me smile. The whole Rhysand/Feyre relationship angle is beautiful. I’m curious to know what happens now and what exactly she is going to do to get herself out of this one.

Bookshelf worthy? I would like a hidden city where I can store all my books.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Erotica, Mystery, Romance, Sarah J Maas, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  3. Pingback: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

