Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

51-xwftibnl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Title: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour
Author: Morgan Matson
Date Started: August 26
Date Finished: August 28
Format: Hardcover from local library

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

I think it’s now a pretty much known fact that I love contemporary YA books and I love YA books that have to deal with road trips. Add the two together and you’ve pretty much got my kryptonite. I’ll admit that at first I really didn’t like Amy – not because I didn’t understand what she was going through but – because she was so quiet and so against the whole idea in the first place. You know, I get that she was angry that she liked being alone after everything that happened, but to take it out on Roger, who’s just an innocent volunteer at this point, wasn’t really the best of moves. I also didn’t like the fact that this car had to deal with the death of the MC’s father and with a car accident. After having been through my own a few weeks ago, the last thing I needed to be reading about was a girl getting over one. But luckily, there were a lot of fun little ‘detours’ on the way.

Roger on the other hand was a weird secondary character for me. Like I get that he has his own baggage to bring on this trip – his girlfriend that he dated throughout his freshman year of college basically broke up with him for no reason and he wants to find out why – but the way that he kept calling this girl and trying to pin her down so that way they could meet was starting to get a little creepy. Am I really supposed to believe that after Kansas the only reason he was trying to meet up with this girl, was because he was interested in Amy and wanted to make sure that the both of them had closure before he tried anything? Because, to be honest, I don’t really quite buy that, and I really don’t buy the fact that there was a little romance blossoming between Roger and Amy. I mean, sure, being in a car together for over a week, going to all these different places, will lead to some intense bonding, but romance? I’m not so sure. I don’t know, maybe if Amy hadn’t kissed Roger so out of the blue and the book didn’t end so abruptly, I probably would have been all ‘Wohoo! Go Roger and Amy!’ But because the book DID end so abruptly – I mean, Amy never really made it to her new house – I’m just kind of meh on their whole relationship.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. I liked the format of this book, the narrative intermingled with photos, travel journal entries, and the mix lists were hilarious to read about. I liked that the book jumped around as they drove because it would probably have gotten boring if we had been with them driving the whole time. I just didn’t like the whole car accident, father death, and the brief romance that blossomed between the two characters.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

  1. Pingback: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

