Soldier by Julie Kagawa

17342750Title: Soldier
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: The Talon Saga
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Talon
2. Rogue
Date Started: August 10
Date Finished: August 11
Format: Hardcover from local library

When forced to choose between safety with the dragon organization Talon and being hunted forever as an outcast, Ember Hill chose to stand with Riley and his band of rogue dragons rather than become an assassin for Talon. She’s lost any contact with her twin brother, Dante, a Talon devotee, as well as Garret, the former enemy soldier who challenged her beliefs about her human side.

As Ember and Riley hide and regroup to fight another day, Garret journeys alone to the United Kingdom, birthplace of the ancient and secret Order of St. George, to spy on his former brothers and uncover deadly and shocking secrets that will shake the foundations of dragons and dragon slayers a like and place them all in imminent danger as Talon’s new order rises.

So, let’s be real, I love Julie Kagawa’s books. She creates these worlds that are just so awesome and magical that I just wished that I lived there instead of in this one. But, since these worlds are all fiction, that is not to be. However, every time a new book in the Talon Saga comes out I’m transported to a really cool world of dragons and conspiracy. And unfortunately, love triangles, but I’ll get into that little misfit later. Usually when it comes to books in multiple POVs I’m not the biggest fan. I like books to stick to two characters points of view max, when more than that get added to the mix I get supremely confused. However, in this book I liked seeing what was happening from all sides. You got to see Ember’s inner thoughts and emotions. You got to see Riley and Dante’s side. And then, my favorite, Garret and his younger years Sebastian. I felt like I knew what was happening at all times and it made for some delicious reading.

The plot keeps thickening with the Order and Talon and I just…why is it all these groups seemed to be corrupt and believe that their way is the only one? The strife and angst written in those pages was excellent. I’m still curious about the Elder Wyrms and what exactly they have in store, but that can wait. What can’t wait however is my feelings about love triangles. Look, I get that they make for some really good drama and conflict in a story, but when you’ve worked so hard to separate one of the members of the triangle in the last book, only to bring them back and force this – horrible – plot device in their way, we’re going to have a problem. Yes, I know, why aren’t I Team Garret? He’s really sweet and is throwing everything away for Ember! Trust me, I get it and at first I was totally on his team. In fact, in book 1 I wanted Riley to go away because I knew he was going to cause trouble. But then things changed. I mean, look at what Ember’s dragon form feels for Riley, and yeah you have this really stupid plot device in there to explain it, but I think she likes him in her human form too. Just saying.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Love triangles, please go away…although with that ending…. And speaking of endings, did I really read those last few paragraphs of the epilogue right? I mean, I suspected, but it’s a whole other thing to see that I was right! Talk about the big plot twist!

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Julie Kagawa, Paranormal, Romance, Talon Saga, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

