My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand

22840421Title: My Lady Jane
Authors: Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand and Jodi Meadows
Date Started: July 27
Date Finished: July 29
Format: ebook from the digital library

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

To be fair, I’ve read my fair share of historical fiction in the last year. So when I found out these lovely ladies were writing a book about Lady Jane Grey – from the Tudor era – I was kind of intrigued by it. When I found out that it was going to be a humorous historical fiction young adult novel, I added it to my reading list without even thinking about it… (Okay, I did think about it and there was really no bad side to it at all.) When it finally became available for download on the digital library, I was kind of excited. After reading Champion and And I Darken, I needed a little bit of humor in my life. And that is exactly what I got.

Don’t jump to conclusions though, it wasn’t all humor all the time. There is a really wonderful story in these pages with a nice little twist on history. A race of humans that can magically transform into one animal – King Henry VIII was a lion, which explains A LOT if you think about it – and that was the real threat that Bloody Mary was trying to extinguish with her burnings. Not to mention a nice little regicide plot where Edward VI didn’t die from ‘the Affliction’ but was slowly being poisoned by his most trusted man. And then through it all there is the impossible love story of Jane Grey and the man she was forced to marry, Gifford Dudley – or G as he likes to be called for the love of all that is holy. I loved this story probably as much as I loved The Princess Bride – the movie, not the book.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. The only drawback to this book – that isn’t really worth lowering my rating by a star – is the fact that at times it was too funny. While on one hand that’s not a bad thing, on the other I was reading this book at work and a lot of people thought I was slightly losing it when I LOLed for no reason. Then again it is the week after a big competition (read LONG HOURS), so I’m pretty sure everyone thinks I just cracked. Oh well. Worth it.

Bookshelf worthy? Another lovely addition to my Kindle wishlist.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Paranormal, Regency, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

