The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

25991081Title: The Square Root of Summer
Author: Harriet Reuter Hapgood
Date Read: July 23
Format: Hardcover from local library

This is what it means to love someone. This is what it means to grieve someone. It’s a little bit like a black hole. It’s a little bit like infinity.

Gottie H. Oppenheimer is losing time. Literally. When the fabric of the universe around her seaside town begins to fray, she’s hurtled through wormholes to her past:

To last summer, when her grandfather Grey died. To the afternoon she fell in love with Jason, who wouldn’t even hold her hand at the funeral. To the day her best friend Thomas moved away and left her behind with a scar on her hand and a black hole in her memory.

Although Grey is still gone, Jason and Thomas are back, and Gottie’s past, present, and future are about to collide—and someone’s heart is about to be broken.

This will probably be one of the shortest reviews that I have ever written on this blog. Ready? Mein Gott – my God, German, roughly translated  – I did not like this book one bit. I know that sounds harsh, but yikes there is not pretty way to say it. This book was not great. From the small German throughout the book – it’s a good thing I am German and took the language all four years of high school – to the crazy time travelling and science explanations, The Square Root of Summer seriously put me to sleep a few times. I guess I should have known that this book wasn’t going to be my cup of tea when I read the summary and saw the whole time traveling thing. But I figured, for all I knew it was probably going to be like A Thousand Pieces of You with a really good plot and a love story to die for. Not the case.

Gottie is very antisocial and I didn’t like that about her. I get that she was grieving the death of her grandfather in her own way, but I have to wonder if maybe that was the cause for all the ‘wormhole jumping’ that she was doing. She was stuck in the past and the only reason she got out was because of Thomas’s return. The best friend who lived next door who turns into something more…even the relationship put me to sleep.

Final Rating: 2 out of 5 stars. Somewhere buried beneath the quantum physics of time travel that was always referenced in here, there might have been a good story. Gottie is a little bit too much in her head. Thomas is too easily walked over. I would have loved to seen more of the brother. And I really don’t get what the draw was for Gottie with Jason. The guy’s a dick. Move on.

Bookshelf worthy? Save yourself the time and skip it.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

  1. Pingback: The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

