Remembrance by Meg Cabot

remembrance-meg-cabotTitle: Remembrance
Author: Meg Cabot
Series: The Mediator
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Shadowland
2. Ninth Key
3. Reunion
4. Darkest Hour
5. Haunted
6. Twilight
6.5. Proposal
Date Started: July 12
Date Finished: Jul 13
Format: Paperback from my own shelf

It should be a good year for Susannah Simon who has finally graduated from college and is working at her old high school in the administrative office – unpaid – and is still hopelessly in love with Dr. Hector de Silva, her fiancee. Things are going great, except that Jesse is too old fashioned and won’t get into her pants until they are wed. And they won’t wed until he has means to support her financially. But that she can live with, sort of. She’s hoping to break him down any day now. What she can’t live with is the fact that a homicidal seven-year old who’s a ghost is haunting one of her students and she can’t really help because the ghost is overly protective. It doesn’t help either that the child she’s trying to help is Kelly Prescott’s stepdaughter. There’s a blast from the past, and another one on the horizon.

Paul Slater contacts her out of the blue to let her know that he has become a rather flush businessman and one of the acts that he has undertaken as a businessman is to build a strip mall where Suze’s old house stands. At first, she doesn’t understand why he is contacting her about this. So what, if he bought her old house? She’s not that sentimental. But then he giddily tells her something that he found in The Book of the Dead that they studied when they were in high school. If a ghost’s haunting grounds are destroyed, an inner demon will be unleashed. And who says that just because the spirit is no longer the same won’t happen to the living? Now, Suze is concerned because she doesn’t want to find out if Jesse has a dark side and good old Paul has a solution. He won’t tear down the house if she gives him another chance. It’s a devil’s bargain, but is she really willing to risk not taking it?

Okay, okay, so I’ll be honest I really loved this book. The problems I had with the novella weren’t really present in this book. The ‘new/older’ Suze who looked down upon herself was gone. The old Suze – her sarcastic, charming and foul-mouthed self – was back. Jesse is hot and overprotective and so in love with her that it’s kind of sinful. And then there’s Paul…I mean, I know I said in my earlier reviews that I realized the error of my ways in liking him when I was younger and believe me there are still reasons to hate him. He’s evil. He’s a pill popper. He’s kind of a crybaby and sex obsessed. But damn. I don’t know why Suze was complaining (actually, yes, I do) but if a guy like Paul came back in my life and offered me the chance to save my house/boyfriend by just going out to dinner with him and giving him the chance to ‘woo’ her… Man. Who are we kidding? I’d bang him for a Klondike bar. 
tumblr_inline_o86glyama81qgn5r1_500
Yeah. I went there. Moving on…

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I love this book to pieces. I like seeing where all Suze’s friends wound up after high school. I love the relationship that Suze has with all her stepbrothers. I loved the twists that this book provided, I mean, I’m still picking my jaw up off the floor from the revelation about the twins. I still love Paul, even though I shouldn’t. And Jesse and Suze. Sigh. Heaven.

Bookshelf worthy? Just go out and buy it already. 🙂

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite Authors, Meg Cabot, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance, The Mediator series and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

