The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows

22909838Title: The Mirror King
Author: Jodi Meadows
Sequel to: The Orphan Queen
Date Started: July 5
Date Finished: July 8
Format: Hardcover from local library

Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies. Her friends have turned. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation. Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right. Her magic is uncontrollable. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save her and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith – destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

Her heart is torn. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying the Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

To be honest, I didn’t really remember the events in The Orphan Queen and when I went to read my review for that book, I was kind of disappointed with how vague about events I was. That really didn’t help me in trying to remember the first book. Luckily, The Mirror King filled in the holes quite nicely. My problem with the first book was that the execution of the plot was shaky. The first book had a lot of parts that I skimmed through because they were dry. The Mirror King didn’t have the same problem. In fact, the execution of the plot wasn’t shaky at all. Events flowed nicely together. Reasons for actions were justly explained and the conflicts – and believe me there were a lot – were brilliantly detailed and described to the point where I felt Wil’s outrage. The Black Knife character is still my favorite, even his true identity was pretty awesome. I think it helped that some of the Black Knife persona started leaking through.

I liked that I finally got an explanation about the true origins of James and I also liked all the conflicts and inner turmoil that Wil faced over her decisions before and after she becomes Queen. However, I still wish that I had more explanations as to what the wraith really was. I mean, sure we assume it’s from magic use, but that doesn’t really make sense with what happens to it at the end of this book.

Final rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Much better book than its predecessor and I’m happy to finally have a couple in a book worth rooting for that didn’t feel forced like some have been in the books I’ve been reading lately. I just wish that the true origins of the wraith had been explained.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

