Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna-and-the-French-Kiss-HDTitle: Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Date Started: June 30
Date Finished: July 1
Format: ebook from the digital library

Anna knows very little about France. Anything she knows is contained in the movies – Moulin Rouge! – and maybe two words of the language. So when her father, world famous novelist who is Nicholas Sparks double, tells her that she will be going to boarding school in France her senior year of high school she is less than thrilled. She’s going to be leaving behind everything that she has ever known; her family, her best friend, and the guy that she’s been crushing on forever and who is finally showing an interest back. Why is her dad ruining her life? The answer isn’t clear, and grudgingly she gets on the plane to France.

On her first night there, after her parents leave, she realizes that they actually did it. They left her alone in France and she really is all alone. This causes a minor panic attack that sends her crying and causes her next door neighbor to investigate to see what’s wrong, because of course the walls in the dorms are paper thin. Her next door neighbor’s name is Meredith and she explains – with hot chocolate – that it’s okay she cried the first time her parents left her alone in France…three years ago, and everything will be okay. Meredith takes her under her wing and soon she’s making friends with the others in Meredith’s group, including the very hot St. Clair who is American, with a British accent and can speak fluent French and finds Anna’s fear of looking stupid in France hilarious. But soon the two, who seem to only butt heads, become best friends. While the friendship is blossoming something else is too…but St. Clair has a girlfriend and Anna doesn’t want to mess anything up. But sometimes feelings are just too hard to ignore.

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book from my fellow book bloggers and bookstagramers, so when The False Prince just couldn’t keep me entertained at work on Thursday and I was facing four hours of boredom, I saw that the digital library had a copy of this book in. I downloaded it and I wasn’t able to put it down. I was reading it after I got home from work and I read it before I went in early Friday morning and after I got home that night I refused to put it down even though my eyes begged me to. This book’s story was just so captivating and the tension/camaraderie between St. Clair and Anna was just so well written I had to know how it all ended! I haven’t felt like that about a book in a long time, not since I think Every Last Word back in February? *shrugs*

Anyway, my big complaint about this book though was how obsessed Anna became with St. Clair after she realized that she was in love with him after Christmas break. I get that she’s seventeen and probably this is the first time that she’s been bitten by the love bug this hard, but my god. She was truly obsessed. St. Clair this. St. Clair that. Why is he still with Ellie? And I have to say the change from St. Clair to using his first name was actually kind of annoying too. Not to mention confusing. I kind of forgot for a second that he even had a first name with how often his last name was used.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. Yeah, I know, I complain about Anna’s obsession and yet it still gets five stars? Well, it was really minor and Perkins was trying to portray a love obsessed teenager, so it wasn’t like it was too far off from the plot or the character for that matter. Besides the book was still really good!

Bookshelf worthy? And I was finally getting my Kindle book wish list down a little bit. Oh well…

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

