The White Rose by Amy Ewing

24585267Title: The White Rose
Author: Amy Ewing
Series: The Lone City Trilogy
Previous Book in the Series:
1. The Jewel
Date Started: June 27
Date Finished: June 28
Format: Hardcover from local library

Violet is on the run. After the Duchess of the Lake catches Violet with Ash, the hired companion, at the Palace of the Lake, Violet has no choice but to escape the Jewel or face certain death. So along with Ash, and her best friend, Raven, Violet runs away from her unbearable life of servitude. But no one said leaving the Jewel would be easy. As they make their way through the circles of the Lone City, Regimentals track their every move, and the trio barely manages to make it out unscathed and into the safe haven they were promised – a mysterious house in the Farm. But there’s a rebellion brewing, and Violet has found herself in the middle of it. Alongside a new ally, Violet discovers her Auguries are much more powerful than she ever imagined. But is she strong enough to rise up against the Jewel and everything she has ever known?

As usual, second books in a series make me nervous, especially books like The Jewel where I found that the story was just okay. Then I went onto to Goodreads – which wasn’t really smart if I think about it – and the reviews for this book weren’t all that great. But when have I ever let negative reviews get me down? So I plunged ahead and you know what this book wasn’t all that bad.

Don’t get me wrong, this book still had the same problems book 1 did where the dramatic moments weren’t all that dramatic – except that scene where Ash went to go visit his sister Cinder one last time and it almost looked like they were going to get arrested whoa! However, I wasn’t too disappointed. There was some nice character development and plot development too now that I think about it. Garnet, for instance, really grew into a guy that I’m glad Violet and Raven had to depend on. He saved their butts quite a bit and if wasn’t for the fact that he was getting married – a fact that I completely forgot about until it was brought up – I think him and Raven would make a nice couple.

I have to admit the whole overthrowing the royals was a bit repetitive for me, but the added angle that they are doing it because the island itself wasn’t meant for the royals to rule, is kind of exciting. Add in that Violet, the new character Sil and the other surrogates are descendants of this original race that lived on the island and can use the elements to help aid them in the fight and I’m actually quite intrigued to see where the final book goes.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. I’m giving the sequel one more star, because I like the explanation of how exactly everyone came to be on the island. I also liked the intricate way Ewing wove in the Auguries into being something more for the surrogates. Now I’m still reeling from that cliffhanger so… is it October yet?

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Amy Ewing, Book Reviews, Dystopian, Fantasy, Romance, The Lone City Trilogy, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The White Rose by Amy Ewing

  1. Pingback: The Black Key by Amy Ewing | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

