Revisited: Haunted by Meg Cabot

514brTGwsEL._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_Title: Haunted
Author: Meg Cabot
Series: The Mediator
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Shadowland
2. Ninth Key
3. Reunion
4. Darkest Hour
Original Date Started: April 18, 2013
Original Date Finished: April 24, 2013
Format: Paperback from my own shelf

Junior year of Susannah Simon’s high school career is starting and unlike her fellow classmates she is excited to go back to school. Because thing at home have gotten weird. Or more specifically things between her and Jesse have gotten weird since their kiss weeks ago. He’s been avoiding her and when he does appear he doesn’t really talk to her. So if she can get out of the house, it’s a welcome distraction. But the welcome distraction soon turns into a nightmare when Kelly Prescott tells her that she won’t be naming Suze as her VP this year, because she’s going to name the new guy. The new guy who just happens to be Paul Slater. The guy who almost left her for dead over the summer in the shadowland. Even though according to him she wouldn’t have died because she’s not a mediator. She is something more and she didn’t need to be exorcised to be transported to that realm.

Not that Suze is going to believe him, she’s still a little traumatized by what happened over the summer. Although CeeCee, Adam, and Kelly all seem to think that Paul and her had a thing. Add in a ghost who doesn’t believe he should be dead and his brother should take his place and a kegger hot tub party at her house that her step-brother is blackmailing her into playing along with and Suze is just about fed up. Who said mediating was ever easy?

So like I mentioned in my Darkest Hour review, I read Haunted first way back in 2003, not knowing that this was book 5 of a series. I fell for Paul because he was awesome and suavy and damn did he have all the lines. Now, of course, that I’ve read the series multiple times obviously I have seen the error of my ways. However, you got to admit jerkish/cry baby tendencies aside, he’s still great…ish. Since I have read this book the most out of the six, I pretty much know the beginning by heart. But in the new copy I have – the UK edition –  there was a different beginning and I have to admit I kind of liked it better than the one that was released here in the States. It flows better and doesn’t really drop kick us into the action (although it does take away Paul’s kickass entrance back into Suze’s life).

Other than that the story is pretty much the same. High school drama, boy drama, ghost drama, family drama, etc. Out of them all, this book is still my favorite – even though I still have to read 6.5 and 7. The scenes with Paul kind of still make me wish I knew a guy like that when I was in high school. The way that Jesse defended Susannah makes my heart melt. My heart broke with Suze’s when she realized that Jesse didn’t really feel the same and I was kind of proud of how strong she pretended to be when she saw him again after the news about him moving into the rectory. It’s still curious to me that he doesn’t really say that he has feelings for her, he just kisses her instead, which I guess is a better answer since ‘actions are louder than words,’ right?

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Okay, so now that Suze has sold her soul to the devil and had her heart put together by Jesse, does that mean we’ll finally see an end to this love triangle? Oh wait…I already know the answer to that…

Bookshelf worthy? I’m still laughing my butt off at these UK editions. They are probably the best decision I’ve made this year…

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite Authors, Meg Cabot, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance, The Mediator series, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Revisited: Haunted by Meg Cabot

  1. Pingback: Revisited: Twilight by Meg Cabot | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Proposal by Meg Cabot | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  3. Pingback: Remembrance by Meg Cabot | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

