Prodigy by Marie Lu

prodigy_marie_lu_bookTitle: Prodigy
Author: Marie Lu
Series: Legend Trilogy
Previous Book in the Series:
1. Legend
Date Started: June 11
Date Finished: June 16
Format: Hardcover from local library

After escaping from the Republic’s stronghold of Los Angeles, June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the pair joins a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and who offer them passage to the Colonies. The Patriots have only one request – June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s the chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long. But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood? What if the Patriots are wrong?

*grumbles* Okay, so I can’t say I wasn’t warned. After posting my review of Legend, I got a comment telling me that I should give this series a miss, because even though book 2 was slightly better than the first, it all kind of crumbles in book 3. I probably should have listened. Because I am one for political intrigue and corruption – because it does make books about politics interesting – but all the different twists and turns in this book kind of sort of drove me mad. Not to mention the pairing in this book of Day and June felt so forced to me. Normally, when I read a book with couple who you know are going to hook up I can’t wait, but for these two I was just like Really? You’re dealing with revolutions, plagues, and unrest and you have time to sit there and debate about whether or not you’re good together? Honestly? Yeah. No. I hate to admit it but I was with Tess on this one, even though her little blow up in the middle of the book kind of drove me nuts too.

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. Another okay book in a series that is just okay. I like Day and June separately, but not together…Until the last page of the book actually, if I’m going to be honest. The farewell scene was actually quite heartbreaking, even if I felt the relationship was forced. Other than that plot bomb about Day, I really don’t understand why there is a third book. Things sort of were resolved? Other than the Elector instituting his changes? Hm…

Bookshelf worthy? I will give you the same advice, you might want to give this series a pass.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Dystopian, Legend Trilogy, Marie Lu, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prodigy by Marie Lu

  1. BeanCountingBookworm says:

    The third book looks at what’s happened now the republic is relatively stable and goes back to looking at the real struggle going on between them and the colonies. If you didn’t really like prodigy I would consider just skipping Champion. Because I loved Legend, I like Prodigy, I hated Champion. However, you may wish to read it to make your own mind up.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Champion by Marie Lu | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

