Untamed by A.G. Howard

25105196Title: Untamed
Author: A.G. Howard
Series: Splintered Trilogy
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Splintered
2. Unhinged
3. Ensnared
Date Started: March 21
Date Finished: March 31
Format: audio book
Narrated by: Rebecca Gibel

In this companion novel to the Splintered trilogy there are three short stories. The Boy in the Web is told from Alyssa’s mothers perspective in the aftermath of Ensnared and how her and Thomas got ingrained into Wonderland and met Morpheus and Sister Two. The Moth in the Mirror follows Morpheus as he tries to figure out a way into Alyssa’s heart by going through her human beloved’s memories. In Six Impossible Things we are treated to an interesting sight, as Alyssa finally sheds her human life and becomes Wonderland’s Queen with Morpheus at her side.

I won’t lie, the only reason I wanted to read this companion novel was for the short story Six Impossible Things, because I was really curious to see what happened to Alyssa after the epilogue in Ensnared. I wasn’t too disappointed, but I’m jumping ahead of myself… The Boy in the Web wasn’t all that bad of a story to tell, it was interesting to see Alyssa’s mom through a different light and to really understand everything she went through to make sure that Alyssa didn’t end up just like her. Not to mention the first meeting between her and Morpheus, which was sort of revolting to watch. The Moth in the Mirror was kind of odd for me. I kind of get why Morpheus wanted to see Jeb’s memories to figure out whether or not this guy was worthy of Alyssa’s love and why exactly she loved him, but that was kind of going a bit towards the crazy stalker territory for me. I honestly, don’t think Morpheus learned too much, because he flies away more determined than before to make Alyssa’s his despite her being in love with Jeb.

Anyway, as for Six Impossible Things… I’m so freaking mad. Through Alyssa’s memories, you get to see glimpses of her life after the events of Ensnared and some of those memories include the day she marries Jeb and Morpheus gives her an awesome wedding present. You never actually get to see the wedding. When Alyssa goes back to Wonderland three years after Jeb’s death and Morpheus meets her, there is a lot of heavy petting between the two of them. But you don’t get to see the wedding either. That was pretty much the whole reason I wanted to read this companion novel! I was promised weddings! But I only got the moments before. Grr…

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I loved this world that Howard created and I was really happy to get back to it. Listening to it as an audio book added to the experience because I could actually picture the world that was being described. I didn’t like Gibel’s narration at first, especially her cockney accent for Morpheus, but it quickly grew on me and her multiple voices for each character were actually a delight.

Bookshelf worthy? If only I had a rabbit hole to put them…

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in AG Howard, Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, Romance, Splintered Trilogy, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

