The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

10576365Title: The Darkest Minds
Author: Alexandra Bracken
Series: The Darkest Minds Trilogy
Date Started: March 8
Date Finished: March 13
Format: Hardcover from local library

Ruby has survived the odds. She lives in a time when the children of the United States contract a horrible disease that most likely kills them. Most of her class died because of this disease, but she’s been lucky and hasn’t caught it. Or at least that’s what she thinks. On the day of her tenth birthday, she goes into the kitchen for her family’s famous chocolate birthday pancakes, only her mother hasn’t cooked them and doesn’t even know who Ruby is. She takes her into the garage and sends in Ruby’s father to get to the bottom of this, but he doesn’t know who she is either and calls the police. The police don’t come. Instead Psi agents do and take her away to a camp.

As it turns out, if the children don’t get IANN, or they survive it, it means that they are ‘special.’ Ruby has a special ability to make people forget things and when she is sent for classification she makes her tester forget what type she has and is labeled a Green – they use a rainbow scale to determine how dangerous a kid’s ability is Red being the most dangerous, Blue being the least. Six years later, thanks to a White Noise test – a high pitched frequency that only the psi kids can hear and causes them to go immobile – Ruby is sent to the medical wing where she learns the shocking truth. The Psi guards have been testing out a new frequency to pick up any Red, Orange or Yellows that they might have missed. But lucky for Ruby, her nurse doesn’t work for the Psi Guard she works for the Children’s League and has every intention of getting her out before the guard kills her. But Rub knows that help always comes with a price.

I came across the book multiple times whenever I went into the book tag on Pinterest. I read the summary once and wasn’t sure this would be my kind of book, but a lot of my bookish friends told me that I should give it a go. I’m glad I took them up on their advice. The Darkest Minds is a really good dysotopian tale. Only instead of a nuclear bomb going off, it’s a disease that kills off a good chunk of the population’s children. Ruby’s character is kind of hard to like at first, but as you stick with her through the book she becomes likable. Her relationship with Zu, Liam and Chubs had me melting. At first, I really only liked Zu because she kind of could relate to Ruby with the whole camp survivor story thing, but Liam and Chubs grew on me as the book progressed. Don’t even get me started on the chemistry between Liam and Ruby either, because I just might be here all day gushing about it. I told you guys before, my weakness is relationships where the two start out as friends. And it is beautiful.

As for the plot, there is a lot of action and there aren’t too many moments where I found myself snoozing. BUT there is a certain plot point that drove me absolutely crazy and it has to deal with when the gang finally found the Skip Kid and went to their camp. After Ruby’s experience with not only the government camps, but the Children’s League, why did she let down her defenses so easily? Then there was the whole instance at the end of the book, after everything I had already had to go through with the camp, the Skip Kid and the aftermath of all that I had to deal with THAT too?! Jeez. I hope the next book in my TBR pile is not as feels inducing as this one, because I need a break.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. For a book that I didn’t think I was going to like The Darkest Minds sure took me on one hell of a ride. I would definitely recommend this for fans of The Hunger Games series.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Alexandra Bracken, Book Reviews, Dystopian, Mystery, Romance, The Darkest Minds Trilogy, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

  1. Pingback: Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

