The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdiah

187989831Title: The Wrath and the Dawn
Author: Renée Ahdiah
Date Started: January 26
Date Finished: January 28
Format: Hardcover from local library

In a land ruled by a boy-king, every dawn brings about heartache for a new family. The boy-king is kind and strong in his ruling, but in one thing do his people find fault. For the last few months, everyday Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan choses a new bride to be his. But she never makes it to the next day. By dawn, her body is found with a silk chord wrapped around her neck. The people are in uproar and fear who comes next. When Shahrzad (Shazi for short) best friend Shiva becomes the king’s latest victim she swear revenge and volunteers to become Khalid’s next victim.

But things don’t go according to plan. For the first time, Khalid actually visits a wife and has dinner with her. Right before he leaves, she begins to tell him a story, one that he raptly listens to, even when it lasts past the dawn. He makes a decision to let her live one more night, but soon one more night turns into weeks and then months. And Shazi is slowly starting to forget why she came to the palace to begin with…

It’s been over twelve hours since I’ve finished this book and I honestly can’t even put into words what I’m feeling right now. The Wrath and the Dawn first crossed my path on Goodreads when it showed up in the Trending now block on my feed, but I dismissed it without even reading the summary because the cover didn’t look like something that would be up my alley. Then one of my friends over on tumblr started to read it and she was absolutely in love with it. I read the summary and was wary, but put it on my to-read list anyway. And I am so, SO glad that I did.

It has a slow beginning and at first, it is sort of difficult keeping track of all the new characters, but once the story really gets rolling it draws you in and it draws you in quick. The rapport that develops between Khalid and Shazi is actually quite amazing and I felt my confusion mount with her’s as she tried to figure out the Caliph and what exactly he was hiding with all these marriages. When the truth is finally revealed – on all sides – my feelings got squeezed big time and don’t even get me started on the ending! I’m glad I don’t have to wait all that long for The Rose and the Dagger or else I might have gone insane.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. Apparently, books that I am wary of this year are actually turning out to be really good reads for me. That makes me excited and I cannot wait until book 2. *impatiently counts down the days*

Bookshelf worthy? A secret passage of books would be great, wouldn’t it?

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdiah

  1. Pingback: The Rose & the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

