The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

TheIronTraitorTitle: The Iron Traitor
Author: Julie Kagawa
Series: The Iron Fey – The Call of the Forgotten
Previous Book in the Series:
1. The Lost Prince
Date Started: December 20
Date Finished: December 21
Format: Paperback from local library

Ethan and Kenzie are back from the Nevernever and things are about to go down. Kenzie’s father, who didn’t pay much attention to her before, is paying attention now especially when because of her antics – their excuse of running away to New York – she ends up back in the hospital. Kenzie’s father forbids Ethan from seeing his daughter ever again and threatens to make his life hell if he even attempts to do so. Kenzie and Ethan don’t listen, of course, but another kink is thrown into their plans when Meghan shows up at Ethan’s house and asks if he has seen Keirran. Apparently he is missing and no one can find him.

Ethan doesn’t think much of it until Annwyl – the banished Summer Court faery – shows up and admits that the reason Keirran is missing is because he is out looking for a cure for her because she has started to Fade. She needs to find him before it is too late and Ethan grudgingly agrees to help her. But there is a mysterious fey – other than the Forgotten – lurking around who wants to set the balance right. Not to mention a prophecy that just might be the key as to why Meghan has stayed away for so long.

So when I reviewed The Lost Prince over twelve months ago, in my final rating I wished that the next book would be better because Ethan drove me nuts with his constant complaining. I got my wish. Ethan keeps his complaining to a minimum. The book was so action packed that I couldn’t put it down – seriously I stayed up until almost two in the morning on another work day because I needed to finish it – and I also got more of the characters that I missed from the original series. There was Puck, there was Ash, there was Meghan and even Razor made an appearance that had me smiling. I don’t want to give too much away so all I have to say is WOW.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. A LOT was happening in this book, almost too much, hence the four star rating and not a five. As for that ending, I am so glad that my library got in the final installment when I was there last week so I was able to pick it up. I’m dying to know what happens!!

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Julie Kagawa, Mystery, Romance, The Iron Fey Series, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa

  1. Pingback: The Iron Warrior by Julie Kagawa | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

